My Ode to Dijon Mustard….

To most this humble condiment is an accessory to a Sunday roast, or a ham sandwich, but for me it is a cornerstone to many things that I cook on a weekly basis. I like to think of it as a foundation to many of my favourite foods, as the glue that sticks the other flavours together, in particular my salad dressings and marinades. I am a fan of its cousin ‘seeded’ mustard, but in my kitchen Dijon is king when it comes to my cooking.

So here are two of my favourite recipes using this very versatile ingredient, the variations of which, are endless.

Salad Dressing Made Simple:

2 tablespoons of vinegar (can be apple cider, white wine, red wine, balsamic, the only thing I wouldn’t really use is white vinegar)

6 tablespoons olive oil (the better the quality, the better the dressing)

1 teaspoon Dijon mustard

1 teaspoon honey (can be substituted with brown sugar)

salt and pepper to taste

add all ingredients into a jar and shake until it emulsifies.  Season to taste, I recommend going slightly salty, or slightly sweet as it seems to balance with your salad better depending on what ingredients you are dressing.  tasting is essential to getting this right as it’s a small amount of alchemy that can’t be matched with precise measurements in my experience.  A recipe that definitely has to be made by taste/feel.

Serve when you are ready. Keeps well in the fridge for a week or two, so multiply the quantities as needed.

Marinade for Pork or Chicken.

I would use this quantity for approx 2 well sized chicken breasts, skin off or for a pork strap (about 700g)

1 teaspoon crushed garlic

2 tbl spoons olive oil

1 tsp crushed black pepper

2 tbl sp finely chopped fresh thyme. (can substitute with dried – go for about 2tsp)

2 tsp Dijon mustard.

Add all ingredients, including your meat, to a freezer bag.  Tie the bag up and massage to marinate your meat. This is the cleanest way I know to make sure you marinate your meat well, without it ending up all over the kitchen, or the cook.  Again this is really only approx quantities, adjust to suit the amount of meat you are marinating or your tastes.  If you’re a garlic fan, go nuts, and ditto on the mustard.  The only thing I would say, is DON”T salt your meat, as it will start the cooking process and make your meat tough.  Salt at the time of cooking if you think it needs it.  I personally find with all these yummy flavours it’s not something you really need to do.

So if you have any idea’s or super recipes that you love to use with Dijon Mustard, please share as I am always looking for ideas.

Happy Cooking, Leah

Share your thoughts, we love to hear them....

