Banana & Coconut Bread re-adapted….

I’ve been using this blog for less than a month, wanting to find a way to share my food experiences with the wide world out there.  Little did I know when I embarked on this adventure that I would start to find myself engrossed in other people’s food blogs, and inspired to try people’s recipes out for myself.  It’s kinda the whole point I know, but sometimes its easy to get caught up in the reading and drooling over photo’s and not actually get yourself in the kitchen to put it into a reality.

So here is my first (of many I am sure) step onto the re-blogging journey.  With another stack of  squishy banana’s sitting on my kitchen bench,  IamSimplyTia‘s Banana & Coconut Bread sounded like a really good place to begin.  The results?  Well lets just say half a loaf was eaten within an hour of it coming out of the oven, and I don’t see the rest of it lasting beyond the 24 hour mark.   The bread is sweet, well textured and dense.  I’d probably say its more cake like, than bread, but when its this yummy it doesn’t matter what it’s called, you will just eat it anyway.

I’ve interpreted this one into Australian measurements, and added a little Leah’s twist as I like to.  Well worth the effort, its quick and easy and a very very tasty way to use up some banana’s.

Banana & Coconut Bread

  • 1 3/4 cups plain flour
  • 1 tsp bicarb soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2 large very ripe bananas, peeled & mashed
  • 120g butter, melted and cooled
  • 2 large eggs
  • 3/4 cup packed light brown sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/3 cup evaporated milk (if you use sweetened then take away 1/4 cup of brown sugar)
  • 1 cup shredded coconut
the ‘leah’ twist?  add a teaspoon of ground nutmeg or cinnamon to add an extra dimension to the flavour

Method:

Preheat oven to 180C (350F). Grease and flour a loaf tin.

In mixer, or by hand, mix melted butter & sugar for approx 3 mins, or until light & fluffy.

Add eggs, vanilla, bananas and milk and mix until well combined.  Finally add flour and coconut until well blended.

Pour into loaf pan and bake for approx 45mins – 1 hour or until a skewer comes away clean from the middle of the loaf.

This is very yummy once cooled, but I think it would be super tasty with a scoop of vanilla ice cream when it first comes out of the oven, as it does have a pudding like texture.

Happy Baking!

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Simply Tia says:

    Looks gorgeous!!!!

    Like

    1. foodandnews says:

      thank you

      Like

Share your thoughts, we love to hear them....

