Almond, Coconut and Cranberry Toasted Muesli (Granola)

on

 

I’ve been buying and trying many different muesli’s trying to find something healthy, not to fattening (and full of yucky stuff) that I actually like to eat in the morning.  So far there has only been a few, and they are super expensive.  I love crunchy textures, and nuts so when I saw a recipe online I thought I would try making my own and see if I can make something that takes my fancy, and doesn’t cost a fortune.

If at this point you are turning off, thinking  yuk, not a fan of muesli, I dare you to give this a try.  If you like Anzac Biscuits or Fruit Crumble of any kind, then I think these flavours would work for you.  Just add yoghurt and or fruit, or serve with hot milk, dare I say it, it might even be yummy sprinkled over custard for dessert.

The inspiration for this recipe has to go to knitcookrepeat for her recipe.  I’ve used the base recipe and glorified it with my own twists.

 

 

 

Almond, Coconut and Cranberry Toasted Muesli – makes about 7 cups
Heat oven to 180 c

  • 5 cups rolled oats
  • 1/4 cup sesame seeds
  • 1 cup coconut flakes
  • 1 cup crushed or flaked almonds
  • 150g  melted butter
  • 1/4 brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup dried cranberries
  • 2 tbl sp honey
  • 1 tsp vanilla essence
  • 1 tsp ground cardamom
  • 1 tsp ground cloves
  • 2 tsp ground cinnamon

Melt butter and honey.

Mix all dry ingredients together, leaving the cranberries out of the mix.

Add the melted butter and honey to the dry mix and stir thoroughly.  Put onto brownie, or baking tray.  Don’t make too deep.  Cook for approx 15 mins, making sure to turn over regularly as its starts to brown.   You may find this easier to do in two batches.  Once removed from oven and cooled, add in cranberries.  Keep in an air tight container and eat anyway that strikes your fancy.

** make sure you let it cool down completely before putting into a container.  If it’s still warm the condensation will make it go soggy and the efforts of toasting will be lost. **

If you are looking for alternative flavours, here is some suggestions I can think of:
substitute the almonds and cranberries for:

  • banana chips and walnuts (I would add both nuts and banana in after toasting)
  • almonds & dried apricots
  • dried apple & hazelnuts
  • apple & sultana
  • orange zest & almonds

I can imagine this being a lovely gift for someone you knew that was a muesli eater too….

happy cooking, leah

2 Comments Add yours

Share your thoughts, we love to hear them....

