a super slice for the sweet tooth….

on

I had some left over condensed milk leftover and was looking for something to make.  I saw a variation of this recipe online and thought I would give it a shot.  The end result, slightly crumbly and sweet enough to put my teeth on edge!  Not quite my cup of tea but I’m sure this would be a favourite for a lot of people.

 

Magic Bars...a sweettooth's delight

Magic Bars – heat oven 180c

140g melted unsalted butter

1/400g packet of crushed digestive biscuits (I would maybe try hobnobs or an oaty biscuit instead)

1 tin of sweetened condensed milk

1 cup of crushed nuts ( I used almonds, but next time I think I’d try salty peanuts)

2 cups of chocolate pieces (I used a mixture of dark and milk chocolate)

1 cup shredded coconut

Melt butter and mix with crushed biscuits.  Press onto the bottom of a lined Pyrex or ceramic dish.

Spread the condensed milk over the top.  I would suggest a spoon or dripping from the can as you won’t be able to spread this once its on the biscuits.  Then layer the nuts, coconut and chocolate over the top.  Press down with a spoon.  Bake for approx 25 mins or until the nuts and coconut go a golden colour.  Before cutting this slice, it is essential that it cools down properly or it will fall apart.  My suggestion would be put it in the refrigerator, once its room temperature, and cool for at least another 2 – 3 hours, if not overnight.  It will then be much easier to cut with less mess.

 

magic bars, straight out of the oven

Happy Baking, I hope this takes your fancy and tickles your sweet taste buds.

Leah

Share your thoughts, we love to hear them....

