Cajun Spiced Chicken

on

I’ve started a little cooking project with my Mum.  Working on this blog has made me realise how many recipes there are that I cook that I just know because of learning them when I was young, and also how many Mum used to make that I wouldn’t even know where to begin with.  The true catalyst was the other half asking to have Corned Beef.  Having never made it, and probably eating it last when I was 10 or 11 y.o., the first thing I did was call Mum and his Mum to get their recipes…The corned beef was okay (another post to come), but from this ultimately Please Pass the Recipe was born.  It’s in its infancy, so stay tuned, but I am hoping it will be a wonderful journey of sharing our family recipes.

This was one of the first recipes to hit my email account, and a very easy thing to have on hand to use when you are trying to spice up a last minute meal.  Hope you enjoy.

Cajun Spice Mix

Cajun Spice Mix
  • 1 tbl sp  Ground Paprika
  • 2 tsp Ground Cumin
  • 2 tsp Dried Oregano
  • 2 tsp Sesame Seeds
  • 1 tsp Sea Salt
  • 1 tsp Granulated Garlic
  • Good grind of Black Pepper (approx 1/2 tsp)

Mix all ingredients together and store in a dry container for use.

Serving Suggestion: Cajun Marinated Chicken

Chicken Marinated with Cajun Spices

2 chicken breasts, cut into large cubes

approx 1 serve of Cajun spice mix.  Blend together in a bag and bake for approx 30 mins in a 180c oven or until chicken is well done.

Marinating the Chicken

I served the chicken with baked corn in a garlic butter, homemade baked potato wedges and a green garden salad.  A yummy light, healthy dinner.  Next time I am definitely adding a little bit of chilli powder to give this recipe a bit of zing!

Share your thoughts, we love to hear them....

