Cloudberries’ Chickpea Salad

Tessa Kiros' Chickpea Salad

It’s a big rich to say this recipe changed my life, but it certainly changed my opinion about chickpeas. I used to avoid them, not being a fan of the side effects of a bloated belly that would eventuate after consuming them. Making  Tessa Kiros’ chick pea salad changed all that for me….  removing the skins eliminated all the pain and discomfort I had associated with eating them.   Suddenly I was obsessed with chickpeas, putting them into everything I could think of;  salads, bakes, casseroles & as a base for dips.  Knowing as well , thanks to my housemate at the time being a natropath, that chickpeas are healthy and a great source of  protein certainly spurred on the revolution.   I eat this salad, knowing that it’s healthy for me, but also that it’s an amazing marriage of flavours.  Tessa suggests serving with chicken or lamb, but having just made this and trying to come up with idea’s for dinner I am dreaming of a piece of barbecued salmon and a glass of Charles Melton Rose of Virginia to accompany this favourite….

Chick pea, Feta & Coriander Salad

  • 1 tin chick peas (skins removed)
  • 250ml olive oil
  • 1 large red onion finely cut
  • 5 garlic cloves
  • 2 red chillis
  • 250g fetta cheese
  • 4 spring onions (scallions) sliced finely
  • 1/2 cup chopped coriander (cilantro)
  • 1 cup chopped fresh italian parsley (flat leaf)
  • juice of one lemon
  • salt and pepper to season

Heat approx 3 tablespoons olive oil and fry off the red onion gently until cooked through and slightly golden.  Add the garlic and red chilli and cook for a few more seconds, until you can smell the garlic.  Take care not the brown it.  Take this mix off the heat and let cool completely.

Combine chickpeas, crumbled feta cheese, spring onions, herbs and lemon juice.  season to taste.  Add the cooled onion mix and remaining oil (I don’t normally use quite the cup full) and mix well.  Serve fresh with chicken or lamb.

9 Comments Add yours

  1. Yum, wish you could come and make it for me, I’m soo lazy;-)

    Like

  2. Sara says:

    I make this ALL THE TIME. It’s absolutely fantastic. I don’t always remove the skins, but it’s good to know that it helps for some.

    Like

    1. leah says:

      its awesome huh?

      Like

  3. OK so I’m going to sound particularly DENSE with this comment, but I never even thought about removing the skins from chickpeas. I make a similar salad from one of Heidi Swanson’s cookbooks that uses black beans – other ingredients are similar, with the addition of cherry tomatoes. Delish!

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      lol, not dense at all. I didn’t know about it either until I read this recipe and it makes a huge difference in the flavour and also the digestion. I think little wins like this are what keep me going back for more in cookbooks, there is so much to learn in the kitchen 🙂 I’ll have to sus out the recipe you’re talking about, it sounds awesome.

      Like

Share your thoughts, we love to hear them....

