Creating foodie gifts

Muesli and Gift Cards

As you’ve no doubt observed if you have been following my blog over the past few weeks, I’m a little bit enamoured of my kitchen and creating baked goods at the moment.  It’s not quite an obsession, but I would definitely say you could define it as a hobby about now.  Truth is, even when I didn’t know how to cook (read make dinner) when I was young, I always loved getting in the kitchen to bake.  As I got older, my awareness of the side effects from baking grew, ie…my waistline was in danger of growing too, and I stopped baking sweet treats and started cooking savoury food instead.  Now, living in an environment where I have someone who is happy to sample my baking, and a team of people in my work place who are happy to be my guinea pigs as well, I’m finding it a joy to get back into the kitchen and bake.  All those willing taste testers are probably me deluding myself about that expanding waistline, but I’ll go with it for a little bit just to see where the journey ends up…..

And so I find myself looking for some excuses to cook even more and started thinking about making gifts for people.  I love a homemade gifts, it seems so personal and special that someone would take the time and effort to make something just for me.  Plus I know in this day and age the average person struggles to get into the kitchen to cook dinner every night (including me), let alone be making homemade muesli, bread, jams and chutney.    So it seems a natural fit for me to be making some yummy goodies for my friends as gifts, particularly with a few birthdays on the horizon in the next few weeks.

Stay tuned as I post some delish, and easy cooking idea’s that can be turned into tasty treats and make someones day particularly special.

Green Tomato Pickles
8 Comments Add yours

  1. itssrijana says:

    hi how to make green tomato pickle or any other without oil or less oil

    Like

    1. leah says:

      stay tuned for a recipe. no oil at all in this recipe.

      Like

      1. itssrijana says:

        that would be super for my father hope its easy though

        Like

      2. leah says:

        Super easy, and tasty. A recipe I inherited from my grand mother. I’ll try to post tomorrow for you

        Like

      3. leah says:

        posted and good to go, good luck making it, I’d love to know how it turns out

        Like

  2. Assia says:

    What a great and very inspiring idea! Thank you for sharing! It looks like I have work to do!

    Like

  3. Look forward to hearing the recipe. I made pickles and relish last year for the first time. My friends loved t so much I almost ran out. One has made plans to come over and can ths year. “She ended up with about 7 jars and bought two of them”. Maybe I should not teach her how to can pickles!
    Peach State

    Like

Share your thoughts, we love to hear them....

