Rhubarb and Apple Crumble

Apple and Rhubarb Crumble

When I’m feeling like dessert, but I don’t want to spend hours in the kitchen, this is the immediate recipe I think of.  It’s so easy to make, I even suggest that it’s a great recipe to cook with kids.  Get them involved in making something semi healthy for a sweet treat after dinner at night.  There is some simple building blocks to this dish, and then you can mix it up as much or as little as you like….the only limit is your imagination.    For this version I made the crumble with Rhubarb and Apple, but its delicious with apple on its own, mixed berries with apple, banana and rhubarb…… you get the idea.  Plus switch up the nuts in the crumble, add in sultana’s or other dried fruit…..and voila you have a plethora of different dishes from one recipe.

Rhubarb and Apple Crumble

  • 8 – 10 stalks of Rhubarb
  • 4 Granny Smith Apples
  • 200ml water
  • 1 tbl spoon brown sugar – to taste depending on tartness of fruit
  • 1 1/2 cups rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup desiccated coconut
  • 1/2 cup flaked almonds
  • /2 cup plain flour
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 150g softened butter
  • 1 tsp cinnamon

cut approx 10 stalks of Rhubarb into cubes
peel and dice approx 4 apples ( I use granny smiths because they are tart and don’t dissolve when you cook them).  Cook fruit with water over a low heat in a covered saucepan.  This steams the fruit as its cooking and prevents it turning into mush.   Cook until soft.  Allow to cool and then place into a ceramic or glass baking dish.

rhubarb and apple

mix remaining dry ingredients together in a bowl.  Rub butter through ingredients until it clumps together slightly when pinched.  At this point put crumble mix over the fruit.  Cook in a 180c oven for approx 30 mins, or until the crumble is golden brown.  Serve with ice cream, cream or custard depending on your inclination.  I love to have crumble cold the next day for breakfast sans the cream etc, or with some natural greek yoghurt.  In a pinch I think the granola mix might do just as well as the crumble mix if you are in a hurry to get this dish made.

Happy cooking, Leah

5 Comments Add yours

  1. I’m going to have to try this this summer. I live in Chicago with access to some wonderful farmers’ market; I’m looking forward to the appearance of rhubarb this summer!

    Like

    1. leah says:

      oooh I’m jealous of your farmers market, desperately trying to find one here! I’ve living on Rhubarb at the moment though and loving it. hope you enjoy the recipe, I’d love to hear you go if you get a chance. leah

      Like

      1. I’ll let you know when I’m able to try it out!

        Like

Share your thoughts, we love to hear them....

