healthy bircher muesli

breakfast

I have memories from my early 20’s, when I worked in a major chain hotel, of this being a staple dish on the breakfast buffet.  Knowing it was oats, nuts and fruit appealed to me, finding out that it also contained cream, not so much.    So I adapted this recipe over time when I was looking for a healthy breakfast alternative that I would travel well to work, or be served in a pinch if I was in a hurry.  Really this is the base upon which you can build.  I would and do often serve it with stewed fruit and yoghurt, depending on what I feel like.

Leah’s Bircher Muesli

  • 1 apple, grated
  • 1/4 cup coconut
  • 1/4 almond flakes, or whole almonds crushed into smaller pieces
  • 1 cup rolled oats
  • zest of one orange
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp ground cardamom
  • 1/2 tsp ground cloves
  •  400 ml (1 tin) apricot nectar
  • 1 cup soy milk or 1 cup greek yoghurt
  • 1/2 cup greek or vanilla yoghurt
  • 2 tbl sp honey
  • 1/4 cup sesame seeds
ingredients

Combine all ingredients together, except the 1/2 separate cup of yoghurt – the mix should be loose and quite liquid.  Allow the mixture to sit overnight so that the oats soak up the liquid.  At this point add in the 1/2 yoghurt to the mix and stir well.   Serve with stewed apricots, apple or yoghurt on its own.   I think this is a great breakfast alternative for someone wanting something tasty,  to get in your oats, without having bland dusty uncooked muesli, or suffering the consequences of raw oats.   Slightly healthy, very very tasty and goes wonderfully with my morning coffee.

One Comment Add yours

Share your thoughts, we love to hear them....

