homemade sweet potato and potato chips

Homemade chips….I know they are not the same as the ones you get when you eat out.  I think the difference is in the oil, the temperature of cooking and the size of the fryers.  Don’t let this stop you though, as they can be really fabulous when they are made from scratch at home.  There is something about homemade food, created with love that nothing commercial can compete with on a mass scale.  I particularly like the sweet potato version as this is not a common thing to be able to obtain in Australian cafe’s and restaurants.

what do you need to do this?

  • 1 med sized sweet potato
  • 4 med sized potatoes – pick a variety that makes good chips – having said that I use an everyday variety available at my local supermarket.
  • 1/2 cup mayonnaise
  • 1/4 cup sweet chilli sauce
  • paprika
  • salt
  • 1 – 1.5L canola oil
  • paper towel

Cut your chips into approx 1cm width batons.  I set them in water for a little bit, I’m not quite sure if there is a scientific reason for this, but I find I get nicer chips, and it’s what I was taught to do when I worked in a kitchen.  Clearly I remembered the trick and not the explanation!  Dry your potatoes and heat your oil.  Be careful to make sure your oil is not too hot.  I normally use a skewer as a way to know that it’s getting ready.  They have a small amount of water in them without making the oil explode.    Cook your chips in small batches, setting aside onto paper towel as they start to show a little  colour.  By the time you get to the end of your potato and sweet potato the internal cooking process should have done its job enough for the second cooking.  This is where you go for broke to get the chips nicely cooked and crispy.  As brown as you desire.   Mix the chilli sauce and the mayonnaise together.    I then toss the potatoes in a mix of paprika and salt and serve with the chilli sauce.

my tips:

  • make sure you have something to cover your oil as it will spit when you put something with water on it, into hot oil
  • dry your potato well or you will end up with an overflow of oil
  • never leave your oil unattended, particularly if you are using gas cooking
  • use canola or vegetable oil – most others cannot get hot enough or will impart a flavour that you don’t want to have on your chips.
  • When you are cooking your sweet potato it could be very tempting to cook them until brown, unfortunately though they won’t be cooked through as a rule.  You need to do the double cook to make sure that you get properly cook chips.  Trust me, the time will be worth it.
chip sizes
drying the potatoes
first cooking
the finished product good to go!

This combo of Sweet chilli, paprika and sweet potato is awesome and a fabulous treat.   I did normal potatoes too to a great success.  Bring on the beer, the footy and the couch on a sunday afternoon!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Currie Rose says:

    Y.U.M. I wish I could hire you as my personal chef!

    Like

    1. leah says:

      sounds like fun 🙂

      Like

Share your thoughts, we love to hear them....

