Lemon Curd (Lemon Butter)

What to do when you have yolks made over from baking?    Well I was racking my brain and the only thing I was coming up with was mayonnaise.  Whilst I love homemade mayo, it really wasn’t something I was keen on making right now.  So I turned to my trusty friend google and landed on a gold mine!  Check out this blog Food and Whine  if you are looking for ideas, there is plenty of suggestions depending on just how many egg yolks you have over.

Lemon buttter/curd is something I remember from my childhood, being spread on toast as a treat.  In the 90’s in Melbourne it became all the rage to have lemon tarts in cafes (along with chocolate mud cake), if you weren’t doing it, you probably didn’t have many customers.  There was many examples of stodgy horrible pastry with elasticy and tasteless curd, but if you struck upon a good one (and they did exist), it was like eating sunshine…..the light fluffy curd, the tartness of the lemon balanced out with a beautiful light buttery pastry…..a truly delightful experience.   I’m not going to make a tart in this recipe.  I won’t profess to being great at pastry (I leave that up to my sister) but I do love the curd to have on toast,  and I think it makes a beautiful gift, so I thought I’d make some anyway.

Makes about 2 cups

Lemon Curd

Ingredients:

  • 6 egg yolks
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/3 cup fresh lemon juice (about 4-5 lemons)
  • 2 tbsps grated lemon zest
  • 1/2 cup cold unsalted butter (1 stick butter), cut into 1/8-in slices

Preparation:

  1. Add 1-inch of water to a medium saucepan and bring to a simmer over low heat. In a medium metal bowl whisk the egg yolks and sugar for about 2 minutes until smooth. Whisk in the lemon juice and zest until combined.
  2. Place the mixing bowl on top of saucepan (the bowl should be wide enough to fit on top of the saucepan, but shouldn’t be touching the simmering water). Stir the mixture constantly with a rubber spatula, scraping the bottom and sides of the bowl as you stir, until it begins to thicken, and will coat the back of a spoon. This will take approximately 7 to 10 minutes. Remove from heat.
  3. Whisk in the butter, one slice at a time. Wait until each piece almost disappears before adding the next. Spoon into clean glass containers and allow to cool with a piece of plastic wrap laid on the surface to prevent a skin from forming.

Refrigerate until needed. This lemon curd will keep for 2 to 3 weeks.

If you want to really impress for afternoon tea, how about lemon curd and cream on Auntie Marj’s scones!

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Kristy says:

    I have to make my own lemon curd! I know that I would absolutely love it. 🙂 This looks delicious and not too hard either!

    Like

    1. leah says:

      definately give it a go…this was delicious, although you can make it with whole eggs if you like so you don’t end up with left over whites….. plus if you have them, you can make with grapefruit or passionfruit and its very decadent 🙂

      Like

    1. Leah says:

      do! Even just thinking about the beautiful silky richness of it makes me think about making it again. It really was divine. Would love to hear how you go if you do give it a shot.

      Like

      1. OK, just made the lemon curd. It’s really good. I’m going to make a Madeira cake to go with it, mmmm…

        Like

      2. Leah says:

        wahoo, glad it worked out for you.

        Like

Share your thoughts, we love to hear them....

