Chocolate, Hazelnut and Banana Muffins

on

Yup…..once again I have mushy banana’s in need of saving on my kitchen counter.  One would think I am not very good at shopping to our needs….or maybe I have an ulterior plan in place….

So combined with leftover easter chocolate still tempting my household, I thought once again I would turn them into a baked  delight to tantalize our taste buds.  So easter + mushy banana’s = birthday treats on a monday morning for one of my work colleagues.  Happy Birthday Monique!

Chocolate, Hazelnut & Banana Muffins

yield 12 muffins

  • 100g crushed hazelnuts
  • 350g dark or milk cooking chocolate
  • 2 mushy mashed bananas
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1 tbl sp. instant coffee
  • approx 2 cups of milk
  • few drops vanilla essence
  • 2 1/2 cups self-raising flour
  • 3 eggs
  • 100g melted butter

Pre-heat your oven to 180c.

Pre-prepare your muffin tin by greasing with butter or spray and then flour.  This will hopefully stop your muffins sticking to the tin.

Place the chocolate and butter into a metal bowl and place the bowl over a saucepan of boiling water.  This is the safest way to melt chocolate without burning it.

Whilst this is happening place all your dry ingredients into a bowl. I like to sift my flour for an even consistency but its not essential. 

Add your mashed banana, vanilla essence & eggs.  Stir through and then add melted chocolate and butter.  Once mixed well, add in milk until the batter is a smooth consistency.

Fill your muffin cups and bake for approx 20 – 30 mins or until springy to touch.  Allow to cool on a wire rack and then dust with icing sugar.

Happy Cooking, and happy eating, Leah

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Your blog and pictures are just so appetizing, I could eat the muffins just by seing them…mmm

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      oh thank you! they were pretty tasty

      Like

  2. SkiDaddy says:

    Thanks for “like”ing my post “Coming out of the closet”. When I saw this recipe I was immediately drawn to it, and my stomach began working in anticipation. I hope to have time to bake/cook some in the near future, this may be one of my first attempts.
    Cheers,
    Dwayne

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      pleasure. Its an awesome post. I find it amazing how writing is a really great way of finding yourself. Sounds like the journey is working well for you. Good luck with the muffins if you decide to give them a try. Would love to hear how you go.

      Like

Share your thoughts, we love to hear them....

