Tomato Napolitana Sauce

on

This simple recipe is what started me many years ago on my cooking journey.

I was 18 years old, just home from a year overseas.  For some reason at this point in my life I was quite stubborn about not wanting to cook.  I’m really not sure why,  as we did have quite a culture in our family of cooking and eating, so I’m putting it down to being a teenage thing.  The good news though, is that I got over it and did start to learn, and this first recipe of mine has turned into a fabulous foundation for so many of my current meals.

Tomato Pasta Sauce aka Napolitana Sauce

  • 4 x tins whole peeled tinned tomatoes
  • 2 brown onions – finely diced
  • 4 cloves of garlic minced
  • 1 tbl sp dried oregano
  • 2 tbl sp olive oil
  • brown sugar, salt and cracked black pepper to taste

Heat a pan and saute your onions in the olive oil until they start to go translucent. Add in your oregano and garlic.  Cook for only a few minutes trying not to let your garlic brown too much, as it will go bitter.  As the onions change colour you can then add in the tomatoes.  I pour in the juice and then crush the whole tomatoes with my hands.  You can use pre-crushed tomatoes but I think that they are more watery and will require more cooking down.  You also get better texture with the whole tomatoes.  Bring your tomatoes to simmer and then turn the heat down and reduce for at least 30 mins on a low heat or until your sauce is starting to thicken.

Once the sauce has thickened you can then season with the pepper, salt and sugar.

If you are serving this straight away then I like to add some fresh basil and serve with freshly grated parmesan cheese.  For the most I tend to preserve as this basic sauce to freeze and then add my ingredients depending on what I am making.

Now you have the foundation sauce, stay tuned for idea’s of what else can be made with the super easy dish.

happy cooking, and happy eating, Leah

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Jen says:

    Nice recipe. I really enjoy it.
    Here’s one you might like.
    http://www.wascene.com/food-drink/spaghetti-napoletana-recipe/
    Thanks for sharing
    Jen

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      thank you for the visit, and the alternate recipe. Glad you liked the post 🙂

      Like

Share your thoughts, we love to hear them....

