Shepherd’s Pie

I thought it was time to share another winter warming recipe for you, as our weather continues to cool and the rain seems to be setting in on this side of the world.

Shepherd’s pie is a dish I remember from my childhood.  Simple yet tasty, it’s also something very easy to make and plain enough in its flavours to appeal to everyone, old and young alike.    A pastry free pie, rich with a red wine gravy it is delicious with some steamed greens and a good glass of sturdy red wine.  Or go one step better and have  a pint of Guinness!

If you want to mix it up, substitute some mashed pumpkin or sweet potato to the top instead.  My vague memories of this meal as a child recollect a combination of the sweeter pumpkin mash with potato was a delicious variation.

I think next time I make these I’ll be adding a small spring of homegrown rosemary to the meat too, just to add to the flavour.

Shepherd’s Pie

serves 4

  • 500g Lamb Mince
  • 1 cup red wine (or beef stock)
  • 1 tbl sp oregano
  • 1 tsp all spice
  • 1 tbl sp olive oil
  • 1 brown onion diced
  • 4 cloves garlic minced
  • 2 tbl sp tomato paste
  • 1 carrot, diced
  • 1/2 cup frozen peas
  • 3 bay leaves
  • 4 x large potatoes
  • 100g butter
  • 1/4 cup milk
  • 100g grated tasty cheese
  • Salt and cracked black pepper to taste

Peel your potatoes and cut into large pieces.  Boil until cooked through in a salted water.  Drain to mash.

Whilst your potatoes are cooking brown off your onions and mince in the olive oil.  Add your garlic, oregano, all spice, diced carrot to the mix and finish off the browning.  At this point add your wine or stock, your bay leaves and tomato paste.  Cook until it starts to simmer and then reduce your heat and allow to cook until the gravy around the meat starts to thicken.  Season to taste.

To make your mash, put your potatoes back into your saucepan and add your butter, milk and salt and pepper to taste.  Mash until a smooth consistency.

I made my pies in small pie dishes, but this does work just aswell as one large pie.  Put your meat into your dish.  Distribute your peas onto the meat of each pie dish.  Then add your mash to cover the meat.  Press this down and then use a fork to fluff up the surface of the potato.  

Cook the pies for approx 20 mins or until golden brown.  I would suggest placing a tray on the shelf below your pies as there is a tendency for the sauce to overflow if your pie dishes are full.

About 5 minutes before taking your pies from the oven sprinkle the tasty cheese on the mash and brown off.

Happy Cooking, and happy eating.

Leah

10 Comments Add yours

  1. ladyredspecs says:

    when I made it, we called it shepherd’s pie 🙂

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      woops….spelling never was my strongest skill 🙂

      Like

    2. Leah says:

      spelling fixed 🙂

      Like

  2. Currie Rose says:

    This is one of my favorite dishes! I like it with sweet potatos but have never tried with pumpkin. Printing this and adding it to my pile of things to make when I have a home and can afford domestic bliss again. 🙂

    Hey, my friend and I cook together sometimes and it looks like this weeks menu is vegetarian stuffed peppers and strawberry shortcake. Do you have any recipes laying around for these dishes?

    Thanks so much,
    Currie
    Happy Sunday!

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      hiya,

      Well I didn’t have a strawberry shortcake recipe to hand (sorry), but you inspired me to do a stuffed vegan zucchini that I think would translate for your peppers….I’ll post it tomorrow after I’ve finished making it tonight. Would love to see how it goes if you make it..and if not all good, it was fun to experiment.

      Leah

      Like

      1. Currie Rose says:

        mmm… wow that sounds tasty! Thank you. I can’t wait to see it and maybe try it out. 🙂

        Like

      2. Leah says:

        not sure if this pinged to you, so here is the recipe. good luck and i’d love to hear what you think if you end up making it https://sharingthefoodwelove.wordpress.com/2012/05/09/stuffed-zucchini/

        Like

      3. Currie Rose says:

        Oh…. Thank you! Dinner is tomorrow and we are grocery shopping together beforehand… so I will propose this recipe. 🙂

        I hope you have a lovely night,
        Currie

        Like

  3. Looks delish. I made Shepherds Pie tonight with beef and pork.

    Like

Share your thoughts, we love to hear them....

