Stuffed Zucchini

on

A wonderful blogger named Currie Rose asked me if I might have a stuffed peppers recipe…and it got me thinking….

Yes I know I got the wrong vegetable, but I worked with what I had on hand and I really think recipe could work well with bell peppers too, or even to stuff tomatoes.  I’ve designed the flavour combination to be simple, more suitable to be a side dish than the main course.

Stuffed Zucchini

  • 1 large zucchini
  • 1 cup brown rice or quinoa cooked
  • 1/8 cup currents or sultanas
  • 1/8 cup pine nuts
  • 2 tsp toasted ground cumin
  • ground black pepper
  • lemon rind of half a small lemon
  • 1 garlic clove minced
  • 2 tbl sp olive oil.

Slice your zucchini in half and remove the middle, allowing the shell to be about 5mm in thickness to keep its shape.  Mix together the spices, rice, lemon rind, sultana’s and nuts.  Place the rice mix into the zucchini and then drizzle with olive oil.  Bake for approx 20 mins or until looking toasty.  I would suggest serving this with either some hummus, or tzatziki.  If you are eating meat, then I think this would complement roast lamb or bbq lamb perfectly.

Having now made this I can also imagine adding some paprika into the mix for peppers and even some tinned whole tomatoes draining and crushed in your hand.  You would only need a few, but it would help to keep the mixture moist.  Maybe a work in progress at this point, but an idea worth pursuing nonetheless.

Happy Cooking, and Happy Eating,

Leah

7 Comments Add yours

  1. michael says:

    Love the idea of stuffed zucchini. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      thank you! and thanks for stopping by

      Like

  2. Nish says:

    Great way to serve zucchinis… & healthy too… Thank you!

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      oh thank you! and thanks for stopping by

      Like

  3. Yummy yummy, will try, I love Zucchini!

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      its pretty good. defintely add the tomato to make it a little bit more moist I think. l’d love to hear how it goes 🙂

      Like

Share your thoughts, we love to hear them....

