Potato & Leek Soup

In my mind soup suits winter like scarves & red wine, its warming and comforting all at the same time.   So I was inspired this weekend by the descending chilly weather as winter moves in, to break out the soup pot & prepare some tasty meals for lunches & a quick lazy dinner. All that is required is to add some yummy tasty cheese & crusty bread, or a cheese toasty, or some garlic bread and you have a meal sorted.  The great thing about soup is that its great for one, or for feeding a crowd, without you having to spend hundreds of dollars.  It’s warming and nourishing, and most of all….tasty!

Potato and Leek has to be a classic flavour combination.  I have memories of primary school where we would have soup Tuesday in winter, and potato & leek soup was always my favourite.  It’s so easy to make and so tasty.  If I was fancying it up, I think it would be awesome with some blue cheese crumbled on the top, and maybe  a few chopped walnuts, but honestly I’m just as happy with a cup at lunch and maybe a cheese toasted sandwich.

Now I should say that I did make this with chicken stock because I think it brings depth to the flavour, and I’d just made a big pot of stock.  Really, though,  its just as easily made with water,  for a vegan or vegetarian option.

Potato & Leek Soup

serves approx 4 people.

  • 8 medium-sized potatoes peeled and chopped into similar sizes.
  • 2 leeks, cleaned and chopped into 2 cm pieces
  • 1 1/5L chicken stock or water
  • 1 cup milk/soy milk
  • plenty of ground black pepper and salt to taste.

Place your potato’s and leeks into the stock or water and simmer for approx 20 mins or until the potatoes are cooked.  You don’t want to over cook them or they will go  gluey, and hence, not very tasty.  When finished cooked using a blender or stick blender to puree, adding the milk as you go.  Season well and you’re ready to go!!!  Soup freezes well so don’t be scared to make twice or triple this recipe.

Happy Cooking, and Happy Eating,

Leah

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Currie Rose says:

    I.heart.potato and leek soup!

    Um, I don’t think I ever commented back about the stuffed zucchini. My friend went shopping prematurely without me so we didn’t make your recipe. I am holding onto it though and we are planning on using your recipe next time.

    Thanks again and happy Saturday to you!

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      Thank you for the update, I wondered yesterday if you’d ended up making them. 🙂 Have a great weekend!

      Like

Share your thoughts, we love to hear them....

