Passionfruit and White Chocolate Cake

We had a birthday in the house last week so it was time to break out the cake baking skills.  After my last efforts at baking a cake on a special occasion (see this post), I thought it was actually quite bold of me to leave this to the night of the actual event to bake.  I can say that it was a success, to my absolute relief, and actually a rather delightful flavour worth repeating.    I borrowed a recipe that I found online, as I tend to do,  when I am seeking a way to turn my inspiration into a reality.  I knew I wanted White Chocolate and Passionfruit and after sifting through multiple options, I settled on this recipe for Passionfruit Cake and altered it to suit my needs.  The added chocolate made the cake sweeter and more dense but no less delicious.  I would probably reduce the amount of sugar I used next time if I was adding the chocolate.

Coincidently I’d discovered some gorgeous little spring form cake tins on sale and so I was inspired to make 4 mini versions instead of one big cake.   I halved the recipe and it worked perfectly.   The mini tins are great if you are wanting to treat yourself but don’t want to be left with a whole cake to consume.  The remaining mini cakes went in the freezer to be brought out when we are feeling like a sweet treat, or have someone around for a visit.

Passionfruit & White Chocolate Cake.

inspired by Food From Our Life

preheat your oven to 170c (320f)

  • 250g unsalted butter
  • 400g caster sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 4 large ripe passionfruit (pulp only)
  • 4 eggs (room temp)
  • 300g self-raising flour
  • 200ml milk
  • 150g white cooking chocolate

Grease and line a 26cm spring form tin.  Or alternatively halve this recipe and use 4 mini 10cm tins like I did above.

Cream the butter, sugar and vanilla until it is light and fluffy.  Add the eggs one at a time and beat after each one.

Add the passionfruit pulp including the pips.  Mix and then slowly add the milk.   Melt your chocolate over a hot water bath and then add to the wet ingredients, stirring as you go so it doesn’t set.

The add your flour in portions until well combined.  Pour into your baking tins and bake for approx 40 mins or until a skewer comes out of the cake clean.  You may need slightly less time with the small tins so keep an eye on them.

Remove from oven and allow to cool before serving.

I served this with some choc bits and passionfruit and it was a beautiful contrast.

I can imagine buttercream or icing being a little bit much after the sweetness of the white chocolate, so I’d be tempted to serve this with a very light dusting of icing sugar and some double cream to cut the sweet.

Happy Baking, and Happy Eating, Leah

9 Comments Add yours

  1. Joanne says:

    Yum! I think I might go and bake this myself 🙂

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      super easy to make…and oh so tasty. would love to know what you think x

      Like

  2. Looks absolutely delicious! Doesn’t seem all that difficult to make as well which is a bit of a bonus.

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      Thank you. It was rated highly by both tasters & was actually a very simple cake to make….a total bonus when baking last minute like I was 🙂

      Like

  3. Food From Our Life says:

    Thanks Leah, so kind of you, I am delighted you found my blog and even more delighted that you liked/loved the recipe – I have just taken a Lemon cake out of the oven 😀 you should give that one a go – it’s heaven and a firm fave in our house. I can definitely see that you’d need to reduce the sugar content if you’re adding the white chocolate. Thanks again and I hope we’ll see you again soon.

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      oooo….lemon cake sounds delicious. thanks for sharing your recipes.

      Like

  4. bubblybaker says:

    Yummm! I love passionfruit and am always on the lookout for passionfruit cake recipes! Thanks for sharing 🙂

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      my pleasure. Give this recipe a try, its super easy and very very tasty 🙂

      Like

Share your thoughts, we love to hear them....

