Banana and Choc Chip Muffins

on

I always think muffins should be a really quick easy treat to make.  For some reason though,  I don’t have the muffin magic to get mine the way I picture them in my head.   I love the flavour combinations I create, but the texture has always been a bit wet and not quite as I want them to be.  Plus they always stick the tin even when I flour and grease it properly.  So when Mum posted a recipe on our other blog (check it out here) I thought I would give them another shot and see if I could perfect my mixture.   The result…..good, but not great….I think there is at least one more version in the wings to get this right.

Having said that I’m giving you the recipe as it should be, not as I made it.  After much discussion we worked out what I did wrong and we’ve been able to fix it, we think.  So here it is, I’d love to hear if you give these a go, what you thought of them and if your muffins work for you.

Banana & Chocolate Chip Muffins.

makes 12 large muffins

  • 3 cups self-raising flour
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 150g butter, melted
  • 2 room temp eggs
  • 2 very ripe banana’s (equals about 3/4 – 1 cup banana)
  • 3/4 cup chocolate chips
  • 1 tsp instant coffee
  • 1 tsp vanilla essence
  • 1/2 – 3/4 cup milk

Pre-heat your oven to 200 – 220c.  Grease and line your muffin tin, or use muffin cups like you can see in the photos.

Sift your flour and add in the sugar & chocolate chips.  Melt your butter and set to the side to cool slightly.  Mash your banana’s and add in the vanilla and coffee and stir.

Add your eggs and banana mix into the dried goods and then add the milk in to the mix bit by bit.   The mixture will be thick, about the consistency of cooked porridge.  It should sit up like a soft whipped cream.  If you find its dryer than this then you may add a little bit more milk to the mix.  I am learning dryer is better than being super wet.  Scatter a few chocolate chips over the top of the mix before putting  in the oven.

Bake the muffins for approx 15-20 mins, or until golden brown.  Serve warm from the oven, or allow to cool before storing.  These should keep for a few days and can be refreshed with a quick zap in the microwave for 10 seconds.

Happy Cooking & Happy Eating,

Leah

One Comment Add yours

  1. Christina says:

    These look soooo good! Look at all those chocolate chips! 😀

    Like

Share your thoughts, we love to hear them....

