Strawberry and Coconut Bread

on

Okay, okay, it’s really more like cake…… but I’m calling it bread because of the texture, its appearance and the fact that it definitely doesn’t need dressing up like a cake.

I’ve been kind of obsessed by a coconut and banana bread that I discovered on WordPress not very long after I started blogging.  It’s become a regular part of my repertoire as it’s a tasty treat, that freezes well, and is quick and easy to make.    Lately I’ve been thinking about expanding the recipe and trying different flavours with the coconut.  I even opened a tin of canned peaches last weekend with the intention of giving it a shot and they ended up in muffins instead.   So when I received a kilo of strawberries last weekend as a gift, really it wasn’t a long stretch of the imagination to try using strawberries instead.

I have to say I was curious as to what the texture would be like without the banana, but I can say with quite a degree of pride, that the bread is light (lighter actually than the banana version) and has a beautiful fruity flavour that hints at the strawberries without being a sticky overkill that using jam would have created.  Slightly wet, I would probably add a little bit more flour next time, but overall I’m pretty happy with this adaption.

Oh and I think I may have a new obsession to add to the list…. cooked strawberries… but that’s a whole other post!

Strawberry & Coconut Bread

  • 120g melted butter
  • 1 cup threaded coconut
  • 1 cup milk
  • 2/3 cup brown sugar
  • 3 room temp med eggs
  • 3 cups flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 cup diced strawberries
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla essence.

Pre-heat your oven to 180c.  Line a baking tin with paper.

Wash and dry your strawberries and cut into smaller pieces allowing for a few to be cut into thirds for decoration.

 

Melt your butter and mix with the sugar for approx 3 mins or until light and fluffy. Add in your vanilla, eggs, milk and coconut and stir until well combined.  Add in you flour and baking powder in portions until a batter is formed.

Spoon a small layer of batter onto the bottom of the baking tin.

Using half the strawberries place a layer on the mix.  Then add the remaining diced strawberries to your batter and stir.  Add this mix into the baking tin and smooth until the mix is even.  Place your remaining strawberries in a line on the top of the loaf.

Bake for approx 40 mins, or until a skewer pulls clean out of the baking tin.

Remove from oven and cook on a wire rack before serving.

Happy Cooking & Happy Eating!

 

 

 

11 Comments Add yours

  1. This looks fabulous! I cannot wait to try it.

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      thank you! would love to hear how you go with the recipe 🙂

      Like

  2. Conor Bofin says:

    I love how you call it bread. That way, you can eat as much as you like without ‘cake guilt’. Sadly, I suffer cake guilt all too often.
    Lovely post,
    Conor

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      Oh I like that theory a lot. Thanks for the visit 🙂

      Like

  3. Sinead says:

    I absolutely love strawberries and coconut – why have I never tried putting them together before?! This looks amazing, definitely will be giving it a go 😀

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      It’s a great combo…would love to hear what you think of the recipe 🙂

      Like

  4. cht7 says:

    Love coconut! This bread looks really yummy!

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      Thank you. I have wonderful memories of a coconut bread from when I was a child & I think I’m still chasing the elusive recipe 🙂

      Like

  5. Mmmm…can’t go wrong with this combo!! This bread sounds incredible! 🙂

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      it was delish … definitley going to be repeated I think 🙂

      Like

Share your thoughts, we love to hear them....

