Passionfruit butter…. aka the reason the word luscious was invented!

Anyone familiar with my blog will know that I like to try out variations on classic or basic recipes.  Often I am inspired by something I’ve  seen or read in a book or online.  I will loyally follow the recipe the first time around I make it, and then let the variations and inventing begin.  I look for ways to spice up a recipe to suit my tastes, or just to try something different.    I love to keep it interesting, trying to avoid boring repetition in the kitchen that often occurs with not enough time, or just the busy-ness of life.   I’m the first to admit that I’m not always succesful, but sometimes I strike upon something that just really really works.  Now I’m not going to claim to have re-invented the wheel here, I know that this recipe has probably been made countless times, by various people.  It’s just that it’s the first time that its been made in my kitchen and its bloody awesome if I do say so myself!!!

Like lemon, passionfruit can be tart, and so lends itself perfectly to this recipe.  I took the time to strain all the seeds and pulp out of my passionfruit so that I was left with just the juice.   The silkiness of the egg yolk and butter, coupled with the tartness of the passionfruit, backed up with the sweet base come together to create what can only be described as a luscious texture that will practically bring you to your knees.   Put it in a sweet pastry tart (like I did here),  add a dollop to your toast, or just go at it with a spoon… I can guarantee that the 1 1/2 cups of goodness you’ve created won’t last long in your kitchen if you choose to make it.
ps.  If you wanted to give this butter an extra zing, try adding in a tsp of lemon or orange zest… I think it would go down a treat!

Passionfruit Butter

yield approx 1 1/2 cups

  • 1/2 cup passionfruit juice
  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter at room temperature
  • 1 cup castor sugar
  • 6 medium egg yolks

Mix the sugar and egg yolks in a metal bowl until they turn a lovely light yellow colour and the sugar has dissolved.

Add in the passionfruit juice to the mix and combine well.    Place your metal bowl over a pot of gently simmering water.  Stir the mixture over the heat until it thickens and coats the spoon. I usually choose to use a spatula to keep scraping the bowl whilst its cooking.  Keep stirring the mix regularly to prevent sticking to the bottom of the bowl.   Once the mixture is done, remove from the heat and add the butter, stirring into the egg mixture in small pieces until melted before adding the next piece.

I served the passionfruit butter in some ready made sweet pastry cases with a small spoon of passionfruit jam as a garnish.   A delightful ladylike treat for an afternoon of coffee with a visitor from overseas.

To store place your passionfruit butter into a jar or glass and place a piece of cling film over the top to prevent a skin forming on the top of the mix.  The passionfruit butter should last 2 -3 weeks, stored in the fridge.  The recipe should yield approx 1 1/2 cups of passionfruit butter.

 

 

Happy Cooking, and Happy Eating,  Leah

Share your thoughts, we love to hear them....

