Rumballs (definitely for grown ups)

rum balls

I have to say that I never expected it to be so easy to make rumballs.  I’m not quite sure why I’ve never made them before, or even what motivated me to decide to make them now.  All I can think is that I’m trying to get myself into the Christmas spirit and these babies seem to be something I only ever remember from this time of year.   I know my Nan used to make them, and I remember them as being firm, a bit coco-nutty and I think cocoa.

I explored recipes online and finally picked the base of one that is a little more luxe to suit my tastes and base my recipe upon.

Chocolate Rumballs

makes approx 20 balls

  • ¼ cup chopped raisins
  • ¼ cup dark rum
  • ¾ cup desiccated coconut
  • 2 cups crumb cakes – I used sponge cake.
  • ¼ cup sweetened condensed milk
  • ½ cup dark cooking chocolate, melted.
  • chocolate sprinkles to coat

Chop your raisins and place into a small saucepan with 1 tablespoon of rum. Warm over a low heat until it starts to simmer.  Turn the heat off and allow to sit for approx 5 mins.

Place all your ingredients into a bowl, except the sprinkles, and combine well.

rumballs

To create your rumballs, line an airtight container with baking paper and put your chocolate sprinkles into a bowl.

rumballs2

Using teaspoon size scoops of your mixture roll between the palms of your hands and then roll in the sprinkles.  Repeat with the whole mix.   I found having a bowl of water to rinse my hands along the way helped with shaping the balls.

Chill in the fridge overnight before eating.  Super tasty and easy.

And… because 1 mix wasn’t enough, and I had extra cake left over, I experimented a little and made Rum & Hazelnut version too….

Happy Cooking & Happy Eating… and Merry Christmas!

Leah

4 Comments Add yours

  1. elisebakes says:

    I love how they look rolled in jimmies!

    Like

  2. Anita Mac says:

    Oh…they look far too easy…That could be really dangerous!

    Like

Share your thoughts, we love to hear them....

