Strawberry and Cream Sponge

IMG_5656

Having waxed lyrical in an earlier post about not needing equipment in my kitchen, I got a wonderful treat for my birthday/Christmas this year.  I will admit to eyeing it off for a long time in kitchen stores, but always considering an electric mixer a bit of a luxury.  When my parents offered to buy me a Kenwood Mixer I was stoked.  Mum has had her’s for my entire life, so I know it’s a great investment that will get some great use, none more so than making a recipe like this.

Sponge cake with Strawberries and Cream was always my birthday cake of choice growing up.  Even now I love the idea of the fresh tart strawberries with the light vanilla sponge and  a dash of cream for luxury.  So I thought it only appropriate to christen my new Kenwood with making my own birthday cake.

IMG_5631

Sponge Cake with Strawberries and Cream

4 eggs at room temperature,
3/4 cup castor sugar
2 tablespoons custard powder, made up to a heaped cup with corn flour
1 teaspoon cream of tartar
1/2 teaspoon bicarbonate

Grease and line with baking paper, 2 x 20cm (base) deep cake tins.
Preheat oven to 180C

Whisk the egg whites until stiff, then beat in the yolks.

IMG_5637

Add the sugar and beat until fluffy. Sift the remaining ingredients and fold into the egg mixture a third at a time.Bake in the middle of the oven 15 – 20 minutes, until they spring back when touched in the centre.

IMG_5640

Turn the sponges onto a wire rack covered with a clean tea towel to cool.
The cakes will rise enormously but settle back a little when removed from the oven.
Cool then sandwich the two cakes with strawberry jam, whipped cream and sliced strawberries.

IMG_5645

IMG_5648

Decorate the cake top with more cream and strawberries.

IMG_5651IMG_5657

This cake is best eaten on the day it is made.

Happy Cooking, and Happy Eating,

Leah

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. ladyredspecs says:

    Looks fabulous Leah, I hope it tasted as good as Mum makes! Xx

    Like

Share your thoughts, we love to hear them....

