Homemade Hamburgers

1

There are some things in life that are just better homemade… actually probably more often its better that way and I believe hamburgers fit into that category.  I will say there is starting to be more good hamburger offerings out there in fast food land here in Australia now than there ever has been, local businesses are starting to see the value in getting it right, and we all get rewarded for the efforts.   But if the sounds of satisfaction round the kitchen table were anything to go by last night we were pretty happy with these babies.  The first few mouthfuls didn’t even make it from the kitchen bench!

This recipe makes a good 20 sized burgers so there is plenty for a gathering, or enough to freeze and make a healthy last minute dinner when you don’t feel like cooking.  I used a combo of pork and beef because I like the lighter flavour the pork gives the mix, but you could just use beef or even go for a minced lamb, which I think would be awesome (on the list for next time).

When it came time to serving these babies I filled my burgers with what I love to have, but really the world is your oyster in terms of the fillings you use.  Beetroot is a must in an Aussie burger in my opinion, but some people also like a fried egg, pineapple (I’m not such a fan), and even some bbq’d onion (I kinda forgot to make this bit!).

It’s time to get your hands dirty and make yourself an awesome meal for your family and friends for this weekend:

18

Homemade Hamburgers

yields approx 20 burgers

  • 500g minced pork
  • 500g minced beef
  • 1 brown onion grated
  • 3 cloves garlic minced
  • 2 sticks celery grated
  • 1 small (approx 400g) sweet potato steamed and mashed
  • 2 tbl sp soy sauce
  • 2 tbl sp worcestershire sauce
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1 tsp ground black pepper
  • good shake of tabasco sauce
  • 1/2 – 3/4 bread crumbs

Steam your sweet potato and mash.  Allow to cool.

Combine all ingredients in a bowl together well. You don’t want your mix to be too wet or too dry.  If you have a puddle of juice/sauce in the bottom, add more breadcrumbs.  I add these in smaller portions until the mix looks right, it’s a lot harder to take it out again if you’ve got too much.  If your mix is crumbly and won’t stick together you probably have gone too far.   In this case maybe add an egg, or a little bit more soy sauce to help loosen the mix.

16

Once your mixture is the consistency you want, create largish balls (approx the size of the palm of a grown adult).  I went egg-shaped as I used pita bread for my burgers, but if you are using normal hamburger buns then go round….really what ever takes your fancy works here.

15

Cook off your burgers on the grill.  I personally believe it tastes better on a barbeque, but you can do this on a pan on your stove top if you don’t have one and it will still taste great.

9

Prepare all your stuffings.  I grilled some bacon, and then it was just slicing and washing lettuce.

In my burger I used:

  • avocado
  • bacon
  • tasty cheese
  • Mum’s Homemade Tomato Chutney
  • kale
  • tomato
  • beetroot

10

I used Pita bread to wrap the ingredients in.

And then its just build your burger……

7 6 5 4 3

 

If you’re freezing the extra’s, just pop some greaseproof paper between the burgers and they will separate nice an easily when you are defrosting.

Happy Cooking & Happy Eating,

Leah

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Leah these look awesome! I was meant to be having a chicken salad for dinner but… Definitely agree about the beetroot too, delicious!

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      Thank yoooou! They were pretty tasty. Pretty healthy too but I’m not sure you could put them on the approved detox list 🙂

      Like

Share your thoughts, we love to hear them....

