Review: Reception Coffee Bar

photo(11)

First day back at work for the week and it was an early start for our regular weekly planner. I thought I had no time for brekky before I left for work, but as I discovered the upside of driving on the first week in January is that traffic is still not being back to normal (read horrible) yet for the new year.  This  meant time to get a coffee and muffin on the way to sift through emails and print out reports in preparation for the day to start.

I’m picky about my coffee, having grown up drinking it in Melbourne and 5 years of drinking some of the good stuff in Adelaide I’m probably pretty critical of what I drink. Brisbane does a pretty good job in the coffee stakes… But there is some very average offerings out there too.

Reception Coffee Bar caught my eye a few months ago with its funky chalk boards out on the main street and a great quote penned on it.   Sit down outside in the building alcove, or takeaway, the best parts of this place is the amazing massive wooden counter, the interesting and changing quotes that are posted on their sandwich boards daily and the quirky location.

IMG_4356[1]

I also loved that the barista clearly knew his regulars & their drink of choice as they walked the door. Good sign of a professional coffee maker.

IMG_4357[1]

Having said that, I’d rate my soy latte at about a 6.5 out of 10. The temperature was on the cooler side for the soy milk, but I’m still nicely surprised when the barista doesn’t burn it.   Soy is a tricky beast to get right for coffee, overheat it and it will turn and create a horrible taste and smell.  I wasn’t 100% sold on the overall flavour of my coffee  though,  Reception uses Freedom Soy which is not a common brand used by cafe’s, and it had a slight after taste that some soys leave once warmed.   It wasn’t bad enough to put me off, just took some getting used to.  The coffee itself was had two shots, but I found it on the weaker side, smooth light flavour, but nothing that wow’d me.

IMG_4359[1]

My pear and ginger muffin was quite cake like in texture, but it was still pretty yummy. Beautifully cooked pear cubes with a tangy candied ginger. Top the muffin with a brown sugar crust and it was definitely a sweet breakfast treat. The cafe also had croissants and different Panini, but I thought $8 was a bit rich for a quick breakfast on the go for me.

Overall whilst I thought the prices left a little to desire, the location was great, the setup quite classy and the service good.   Reception Coffee Bar doesn’t try to be anything more than about selling coffee, and thats kinda cool.  I’ll be back to give these guys a second shot.

All in all I was pretty happy with my first venture out to try different places in brisvegas.

Medium latte – $4.00
Extra for soy – 50c
Muffin – $4.50

Reception Coffee Bar – 369 Ann street, Brisbane

Open Monday – Friday 6am-3pm

One Comment Add yours

  1. mamagwen says:

    That’s interesting to know, thanks for sharing! I’m always looking for a good coffee place in Brisbane. It’s a bit hit-and-miss here, I find.

    Like

Share your thoughts, we love to hear them....

