Coffee & Walnut Wholemeal Muffins

2

I’ve mentioned before about my journey to make the perfect muffin…. well this time I thought I’d try a different recipe to see if I’d have more luck.  I’m prepared to say I’m happy with these ones.  They are chewier than I expected but I think that has a lot to do with the ingredients and is not a failure on my part in the baking process (I hope!)  Using wholemeal (whole-wheat) flour makes a massive difference to the texture and definitely makes for a filling snack or breakfast.  I based my version of this muffin on Donna Hay’s basic muffin recipe from her latest book, Fresh & Light.

7

Coffee & Walnut Wholemeal Muffins

makes 12 muffins

  • 2 cups wholemeal flour
  • 3 tsp baking powder
  • 3 tsp instant coffee
  • 3/4 cup finely chopped walnuts plus 12 x 1/2 walnut pieces
  • 1/2 cup raw sugar + extra for decoration
  • 2 tbl sp honey
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 egg
  • 310 ml buttermilk
  • 80ml vegetable oil
  • 1 tsp vanilla essence

Pre-heat your oven to 180c. Line a muffin tray with baking paper or cupcake liners.

Combine your flour, baking powder & sugar into a bowl.  In another bowl mix all your remaining ingredients well.  Add your liquids in portions to the flour mix until well combined.

Spoon your mixture in even parts into your muffin tin.  Place 1 piece of walnut on top of the mixture and sprinkle with raw sugar.

6

Bake for approx 25-30 mins or until done.

5

Eat warm from the oven or cold.  Will keep for a few days in an airtight container, otherwise freeze and they are perfect for breakfast on the go.

Happy Cooking & Happy Eating, Leah

2 Comments Add yours

  1. These look simply amazing, and the photos are lovely as well!

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      Thank you! They’re very tasty & I feel like they are semi healthy being made with wholemeal flour 🙂

      Like

Share your thoughts, we love to hear them....

