Why Everyone Should Travel….MS. Galileo’s Greek Tzatziki

4

My experience of Greece, or more particularly the Greek Islands, was one of a homecoming.  I don’t have a family back ground from the Mediterranean, but it certainly felt like I did, the way I was literally buzzing my way around the place, feeling like I’d been Greek in another life.  The food, the history, the people, it all just felt oh so right, so overwhelming in a gob smacking way.  I had epiphany after epiphany in Ancient Greek Temples, in 3000 y.o. churches, swimming in the deep blue sea off Santorini, and even just in the smallest bites of food.   I’m pretty sure my soul was literally singing and dancing the entire time.

For me, the 8 day experience I had  in this country re-affirmed why people must travel if they have the will and the ability.  It fosters understanding, the realisation of where we come from, and comprehension of who we are now.   Very deep for a food blog I know, but something I’m passionate about, and I know that if I can’t travel in body, then I’ll always find a way to let my taste buds do it for me.

So whilst it’s probably likely to be a long time before I’m standing on Greek soil again, I can still replicate a wonderful recipe that was shared with us by our Greek Chef on the M.S. Galileo.   Simple in its ingredients,  a little bit of preparation goes a long way for this yummy dip.

2

Greek Tzatziki

  • 1 cup natural greek yoghurt, drained overnight.
  • 1/2 continental or 1 Lebanese cucumber shredded and drained overnight
  • 2 tbl sp. finely chopped dill
  • 2 garlic cloves minced finely.
  • salt to taste

To drain your yoghurt, stir though a pinch of salt and place it in an open weave cloth (I used a clean chux) resting on a sieve overnight.    Grate your cucumber, sprinkle a pinch of salt on it and drain in the same manner.

1

87

 

The next day, combine all ingredients well and serve.

6

Goes fabulously as a dip, but is also tasty in a sandwich, on a burger or even a souvlaki!

5

Happy Cooking, and Happy Eating,

Leah

ps.  If you want to see some photo’s of this magic journey, check out this calender on redbubble:

http://www.redbubble.com/people/leahjane76/calendars/6264259-inspirationandmemories-the-greek-islands?c=133413-inspirationandmemories-calenders

5 Comments Add yours

  1. ladyredspecs says:

    Great photos Leah, yummy tzatziki x

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      thank you. It was delish 🙂

      Like

  2. daisyandthefox says:

    nothing better then homemade tzatziki! yum! 🙂
    the greek islands must of been beautiful!

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      The Greek Islands were awesome, I’d go back in a heart beat! Before I’d been there I’d never had dill in Tzatziki before, I have to say it completely changes the flavour and its awesome.

      Like

Share your thoughts, we love to hear them....

