Sweet Corn Soup all the way from En. Zed.

Making Fish Skewers in a Bali Cooking School
Making Fish Skewers in a Bali Cooking School

My very first guest post, this recipe comes from my gorgeous friend Tui across the ditch(aka New Zealand), as we like to say here in Australia.   We actually met cooking in a restaurant in Melbourne, Australia, many, many years ago and struck up a wonderful friendship that has endured us both moving to different states and countries along the way…

When she shared this yummy recipe on facebook recently I couldn’t help but ask if I could share it on here as it looks amazing and is on my list of things to make whilst corn is cheap to buy.  Unfortunately, its been so hot here in Brisbane, that soup is the last thing I feel like eating so I thought it only fair to share this one direct from the source.

2

Sweet Corn Soup

Serves plenty! 4 is a lie

  • 12 cobs sweet corn
  • 50ml extra virgin olive oil
  • Salt n pepper
  • Pinch of chilli flakes
  • 850ml chicken or vegetable stock
  • 1 bunch of basil, picked and stalks removed
  • 300mls cream (unnecessary to be honest)

1

Slice sweet corn kernels from the cob with a sharp knife and reserve the cobs. Place olive oil in a heavy-based pot and sauté sweet corn with salt, pepper and chilli flakes. Cook until tender and golden, stirring often to avoid catching on the bottom of the pot. Add stock, half the basil leaves, basil stalks and reserved cobs. Bring to the boil then reduce to a low heat and simmer for 10 minutes. Remove basil, basil stalks and cobs (although basil remained in there adds so much to the taste once blitzed) and liquidize as smooth as possible.

Choose our desired consistency, super smooth, or bits of munch, make sure either way you pass kernels through a sieve. Optional add cream and bring back to the boil in a new pot (doesn’t need it though). Adjust seasoning to taste and serve with thin chopped basil leaves, some squirts of extra virgin olive oil and toasted bread of your choice. As long as it is made and eaten with love.

Happy Cooking and Happy Eating,

Leah & Tui

leah and tui2

7 Comments Add yours

  1. YUM! I love sweet corn and usually eat at least 4 ears a week during the summer. This sounds like an even better way to serve it compared to my usual grilled or roasted dish!

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      I’d love to know what you think of the recipe, Its on my list to try in the next few weeks 🙂

      Like

      1. Unfortunately, it’ll be a while… It’s a bit chilly here in the Northern Hemisphere! ;]

        Like

      2. Leah says:

        he he… whoops, gotta love location differences…when the season is right then… and in the meanwhile I might get onto it in the next week or so 🙂

        Like

      3. Yes, I wish it could be summer all year round though! I’m not a cold weather person… Hope your soup making goes well!

        Like

      4. Leah says:

        thank you. Have to say I’d love some cooler weather right now, but I know when I’m in the dead of winter, all I want is summer…such is life

        Like

      5. It’d be much nicer if we could have a few days of hot, then a few days of cold, and continue alternating instead of having the same weather for months on end. I’ll just have to send the sun an email about it…

        Like

Share your thoughts, we love to hear them....

