Blueberry, Coconut and Banana Cake… another ever evolving recipe

1

Tweaking recipes is all a part of the fun when it comes to cooking.  Putting your own personal touch onto a dish modifying the flavour, texture or substituting ingredients to suit dietary requirements.  I love that the more that I cook the more I feel comfortable playing with recipes knowing what should and shouldn’t work.  I do have disasters, but sometimes I also discover some gourmet gold, and that’s what keeps me going back for more.

This recipe was one discovered very early on in my blogging days which has evolved and changed to suit what I’ve had in the pantry at the time.  I’m pretty safe in saying that its a staple in my cooking routine though.  A delicious treat that I feel slightly less guilty about eating because I’m slowly eliminating some of the unnecessary sugar (no more raw sugar and only 2/3 of the brown sugar in the original recipe) and its chock full of fruit.   The other thing I”ve discovered is that having an electric mixer has made a world of difference to the texture, turning it into something light and fluffy where in the past it had been quite dense and heavy.    At this point I’m also going to stop calling it bread, as it’s definitely qualifying as a cake in my eyes.  So far the changes have been positive, although you may find another variation on here before the year is out.

Blueberry, Coconut and Banana Cake

  • 2 very ripe banana’s
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup frozen blueberries
  • 125 g soft butter
  • 1 3/4 cup plain flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup buttermilk
  • 1 cup shredded coconut

Cream your sugar and butter until light and fluffy.  To this mix add your mashed banana, egg, milk & vanilla.  Mix well and then add your flour and baking powder.  Combine until mixed well.  This will be quite a stiff batter.

5

Then fold in the blue berries by hand.  This is so they don’t bleed and colour your mixture.

Bake in a 180 c oven for approx 1 1/2 hours, testing with a skewer to see when it is cooked.

Yummy warm and cold.

3

Happy Cooking, and Happy Eating.

Leah

Share your thoughts, we love to hear them....

