Lime Marmalade and Coconut Muffins

6

A while back I made a massive batch of lime marmalade with a cheap box of limes that I’d bought at a market and ever since I’ve had 3 containers of the stuff in my fridge waiting to be used for something.  I’d run out of jars you see so I didn’t have anything to seal it in to keep in the cupboard. I’ve been thinking about what to do with some of it ever since.  One lovely person suggested a coconut and marmalade slice and posted me a link a few months back, but do you think I can find it on my blog?  Well after a bit of research online and in my recipe books I struck upon the idea of using the marmalade in muffins as a substitute for some of the sugar.     I’m using the same Donna Hay recipe that I tried last time with walnuts and coffee.  I thought that given it has honey in it, and only a small amount of sugar, that this recipe would be a good one to test it on.  I’ve played with the ingredients a little and the result?  Well its light and fluffy, slightly tart on the back of your tongue with that lovely sweet nutty coconut flavour. The wholemeal flour and coconut give it a little bit of substance.  All in all I think I might be on to a winner, YAY!  So here is a great idea of how you can use up some of your left over, or over-supply of marmalade.  I”m thinking this could be divine with orange or even some lemon and poppy seed, what do you think?

13

Lime Marmalade and Coconut Muffins

  • 1/2 cup coconut threads
  • 1 1/2 cup plain flour
  • 1 cup wholemeal (whole wheat) flour
  • 4 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp cardamom
  • 1 tsp vanilla essence
  • 1/2 cup vegetable or canola oil
  • 1 1/4 cup buttermilk
  • 1/4 lime marmalade
  • 1/4 cup raw sugar
  • zest 1/2 lime
  • 1 egg

Topping

  • 1 tbl sp coconut
  • 1 tbl sp raw sugar

Blend your dry ingredients in a bowl.  In another bowl combine all your wet ingredients.  I strained the rind out of the marmalade to leave just a limey liquid sweet.  It will just remove the bitterness and will be better for the texture I think.

11

Add your wet ingredients to the dry ingredients and combine well.   Spoon into a muffin tin, evenly distributing.

10

This recipe should make 10-12 muffins depending on how far you fill your tin. (I got 10 large muffins).  Mix the coconut and raw sugar in a bowl and sprinkle on the top of the muffins.

3

Bake for approx 25-30 mins.  Cool and eat!

Happy Cooking, and Happy Eating,

Leah

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Have to try this, looks too yummy!

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      Finally I think I got muffins right… It’s only taken 20 years of trying 🙂

      Like

  2. I am SO trying these!!!! Yummmm

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      Good luck, I’d love to hear how you go. They are a pretty yummy treat and I feel a little bit like I’m being healthy when there is wholemeal flour in it 🙂

      Like

Share your thoughts, we love to hear them....

