Hot Cross Buns… Mark II

             17

I know Easter is over, but I really wanted to try out my new variation on the original recipe whilst the experience was fresh in my mind.   As the weather cools here, the idea of eating a fruit bread has a lot of appeal for breakfast anyway so I didn’t really need too many excuses to break out the yeast again on my latest day off work.

Within minutes of the dough being in the bowl to prove I already knew that this recipe was going to work better than the previous one.  I took the original and tweaked it with some of the quantities that I have for my cinnamon bun recipe to try to get a lighter, silkier dough and I think it might work. I also amped up the spices and sultana’s as I wanted a bun that had a better flavour.  I found the previous one to be pretty bland.

 

The results?  Well I still would’ve liked them to be a bit more flavourful again, but they were a great improvement on the first version.  I would probably just play with the spice quantities more and add a touch of dried ginger into the mix and a bit more dried cloves.  Any maybe a few more sultana’s.  Overall though I was very happy with this second version, the texture was better, I like and much more to my liking.    This version is the one that will be staying in the recipe book for me.

10

Leah’s Hot Cross Buns

  • 100g melted butter
  • 2 cups sultanas
  • 4 tsp bread improver (gluten flour)
  • 5 ½-6 cups plain flour
  • 600ml buttermilk
  • 4 tsp dried yeast
  • 1 tsp salt
  • ½ cup sugar
  • 4 tsp dried cinnamon
  • ½ ground cloves
  • 4 tsp mixed spice
  • Zest of 2 oranges.

For the Crosses

  • ½ cup plain flour
  • 1 tbl sp caster sugar
  • 2 tbl sp boiling water

For Glazing

  • 1 tbl sp apricot jam
  • 1 tbl sp boiling water

Combine your dry ingredients in a bowl, leaving aside the yeast.

In a small saucepan melt your butter over a low heat.  Add your milk and warm to approx 37c (tepid).  Stir in your yeast and add to your dry ingredients.

17

Combine all your ingredients well and then knead until the dough is smooth and silky.  This will take about 5 mins.

5

 

Rest your dough covered in seran wrap until doubling in size.  This will probably take about 2 hours at room temperature.  You’ll know when your dough is done if you poke it and the dough doesn’t bounce back.

432

Once proved, knead your dough again and form your buns.  This mixture should make approx 12 – 15.   Place them close together on a baking try and again allow to prove until double in size.

16

Combine your cross mixture into a thick paste.  Pipe over the buns and then place them in the oven.  Cook for approx 10 mins at 200c and then reduce the heat in your oven to 180 and bake for a further 20 mins or until golden brown.

14

Remove from the oven and glaze with the combined apricot jam and hot water.  Serve warm with butter or cream cheese. Even goes well with a touch of marmalade.

These will freeze well for eating at a later date too.

Happy Cooking & Happy Eating,

Leah

3 Comments Add yours

  1. ohlidia says:

    Oh wow! They do look scrumptiously delish!!

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      thank you! they were pretty good to be honest. Better than the first try 🙂

      Like

Share your thoughts, we love to hear them....

