Chicken Congee

on

8

What a wonderfully healing dish this is to eat.

This recipe was shared with me as an idea of something I might be able to handle when I was recovering from having my wisdom teeth removed this past week.   Whilst it has suited perfectly to this situation, I believe it may just become a part of my regular soup repertoire.  It’s thick enough in texture so as to be comforting, rich in flavour thanks to the intense reduction of the chicken stock, but still easy to eat for a mouth not wanting to do much chewing.  The Chinese eat a version of this for breakfast and I can see why it’s a great start to the day.  A version of porridge for sure, but definitely not to be lumped into the same category when it comes to valuing its attractiveness and flavour.  Spice up to suit your palette and keep in the back of your mind when you are seeking comfort food.

I took my inspiration for this recipe from Kylie Kwong’s My China and Stephanie Alexander’s Cook’s Companion when I made this soup.

7

Chicken Congee

  • 2L chicken stock or water
  • 1/2 cup jasmine rice
  • 1 tsp salt
  • Spring Onion finely sliced
  • Sesame Oil and Light Soy to serve

6

Bring your chicken stock to a boil and then add your rice and salt.  Turn down to a simmer and cook for approx 1 1/2 hours or until the liquid has halved in quantity.  The rice will be gluggy, but the soup will still have a degree of clarity about it.

5

Serve hot with finely sliced spring onions and a dash of sesame oil and soy sauce.  Would also be nice with small dash of chilli oil.

4

Happy Cooking and Happy Eating.

Leah

8 Comments Add yours

  1. Yum! I love chicken congee for breakfast. Over past winters, I often make a pot in the weekend and heat up a portion each morning. I haven’t done so this winter though. Thanks for reminding me.

    I’ve had versions of congee in lots of Asian countries and one thing that I find is that I prefer when it has the consistency of porridge. Some cuisines make it so that it is rice in broth and the rice is separate to the broth.

    Like

  2. ttabor says:

    This sounds amazing I am going to give it a try!

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      Thank you. Its not quick to make, but its easy and you can pop it on the stove and pretty much forget about it. I hope you enjoy it as much as we did.

      Like

  3. createthinklive says:

    Reblogged this on createthinklive.

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      thanks for stopping by

      Like

Share your thoughts, we love to hear them....

