Tomato Chutney

7

I’m sure I’ve already mentioned before, my family has quite a tradition of preserving.  I have quite clear memories of Mum with her Fowler’s bottling kit and kilos upon kilos of apricots, plums and cherries being preserved each year when I was a child.  Even now there is always a jar of jam or pickles being packed in the suitcase to share with each other across the country when we visit.

So when I saw 2 bags of ripe roma tomatoes for $3 I didn’t even really have to think about what to make with them if I bought them.  I had a vivid picture in my brain of  a large jar, with only a few dribbles remaining of Mum’s last gift of tomato chutney, so the decision was made for me.  This is our family recipe and was originally blogged on Please Pass the Recipe.

3

Tomato Chutney

yield approx 8-10 medium jars.

  • 3kg ripe tomatoes
  • 4 cooking apples (I used Granny Smith)
  • 3 brown onions
  • 600ml malt vinegar
  • 600g Brown Sugar
  • 2 tsp ground cloves
  • 1 tsp dried chilli
  • 1 tsp ground allspice
  • 2 tbl sp. salt

6

Peel and cut your apples and onions into roughly 1.5cm cubes.  Roughly chop your tomatoes to a similar size.  Along with the remaining ingredients add to a large pot and place on a medium heat and bring to a simmer.  Continue to cook over a low heat until it thickens.  This will take approx 2 hours.

5

Sterilise your clean jars. Whilst warm spoon the chutney and seal with the lids.  As the chutney cools this will create a seal to preserve the chutney.  It will then only require refrigerating after opening.

Mum suggests, and I also recommend, using this chutney as a replacement for tomato sauce.  We had it on shepherds pie a few nights ago and it was delicious.   It’s also great with ham, avocado, in cheese toasted sandwiches and served with cooked eggs.

Happy Cooking and Happy Eating,

Leah

4 Comments Add yours

  1. I would love to make this chutney. I grew up in a family “who preserves” too, yet I have never attempted it on my own. This looks like a great place to start. Your recipe looks very easy. And I much prefer a chutney over a jam! Thank you for posting this.

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      thanks for the comment. Its a beautiful recipe and so so simple. Happy Cooking.

      Like

Share your thoughts, we love to hear them....

