Baked Eggs in Beans

1

Would you like to have a lazy way to make a fancy breakfast?  I think I may just have stumbled onto a new option for me when I was trying to come up with something different for breakfast this morning.  I love eggs, but I do sometimes find myself getting bored with having them cooked the same way all the time.  Whilst I”ve eaten baked eggs before when I’ve been out for breakfast, this was my first attempt making them at home and it was super easy.  A nice treat to create on a sunday morning when you might sit down to linger over a coffee and the paper.

Next time I might stretch myself to make my own beans, but in the meanwhile this is a pretty simple option and you really can add anything else that may take your fancy.  Bacon, asparagus, mushrooms…… take your pick!

6

Baked Eggs in Beans

serves 2

  • 1 x 420 g can of your favourite baked beans
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 tbl spoon grated cheese
  • salt and pepper to taste

Pre-heat your oven to 180c.

Split the can of beans into two single serve baking dishes.  Create a small well in the middle and crack your egg into it.

5

Sprinkle with cheese and place in the oven.

4

Bake for approx 20 mins or until the beans are bubbling around the edges and your cheese is going golden brown.

3

Serve straight from the oven with toast and maybe a touch of hp sauce.

Happy Cooking, and Happy Eating

Leah

11 Comments Add yours

  1. Vinny Grette says:

    I’ve been eating eggs an veg for months now and will never go back – just love this breakfast. So much variety, too – change the veggies, change the way you cook the eggs, change the topping – GREAT! I’ve never tried beans, but I do love eggs in a hummous nest :)To see what I’ve done, peek here http://cookupastory.wordpress.com/2013/03/26/eggs-and-veg-happy-easter-breakfast/

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      yum! some great ideas… I’ll have to try them out 🙂 thanks for sharing

      Like

  2. Oh my gosh….I love this. I am crazy about baked bean and I know I would love a baked egg on top. Thanks for the idea! 🙂

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      no problems at all. I can’t believe its only just occurred to me to try it. 🙂

      Like

  3. Denise Stevens says:

    Yum ! definately having this one ! I love beans and eggs so this is definate for me 🙂

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      Super easy Denise & it was delish!

      Like

  4. Darya says:

    I have only eaten baked beans when in London, and really enjoy them. Adding an egg on top sounds like the PERFECT breakfast for me! Thank you for the inspiration! (I wonder whether I can get baked beans in my where I live… never thought of looking).

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      It was pretty tasty. Of you can find white navy beans (cooked or uncooked) then you could also make your own baked beans. They take a while to make, but home made baked beans are amazing 🙂 good luck hunting them out one way or another.

      Like

      1. Darya says:

        Oh dear, home made baked beans sounds like something I would really enjoy making! 🙂

        Like

      2. Leah says:

        I’m beginning to think I might have to give it a go myself 🙂

        Like

Share your thoughts, we love to hear them....

