Feeding a Healing Mouth

I have had the fortune of reaching the ripe old age of 36 years without needing to have much work done on my teeth…. this past month the situation changed when I found myself in hospital having all four of my wisdom teeth removed.   An adventure that is not at the top of most people’s wish lists, no matter your age!  The next challenge has been what on earth can I eat, beyond jelly and ice cream?  My body is craving nutrients and my mouth wants something more substantial, but my teeth and jaw are not quite ready to allow real food to pass over my tongue.  So I set myself a challenge, both prior to, and after the surgery to feed myself well in spite of my limitations of chewing.    I thought I’d share some of my idea’s for those of you that may find yourself in a similar situation.

Sweet and Delicious

  • Jelly (of course)
  • Custard on mashed banana
  • pudding of any persuasion

IMG_7478

6

Savoury and Nutritious

  • Mashed Sweet Potato and Potato
  • Risotto

3

3

cranberry and almond

  • IMG_4565scrambled eggs

2013-06-19 14.36.06

3

Just a few idea’s for you for next time you’re ill, or caring for someone who is, try out some new and old favourites to boost the spirits and help the healing process.  Do you have anything in your repertoire that you think is essential to add to this list?

Happy Cooking, and Good Healing,

Leah

2 Comments Add yours

  1. audrygodwyn says:

    This is awesome! Great ideas, I’ll be having dental work done soon, lots of it 😦 and these meal ideas will be of great help.
    Thanks!

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      Thank you, glad I could help give you some ideas. Jelly does get a bit biring after a few days. 🙂 Good luck with your teeth!

      Like

Share your thoughts, we love to hear them....

