Spice Up Your Morning Porridge

Dried Cranberries and Chopped Almonds
Dried Cranberries and Chopped Almonds on Semolina Porridge

Porridge can be boring if you let it be.  Traditionally made of oats with water and cooked into a paste, it can be bland, gluey and altogether pretty unpleasant in the wrong hands.   It doesn’t have to be this way though… I love porridge, and I make sure that I cook it and serve it in a way that keeps it interesting, tasty and ultimately (most of the time) still good for me.

I prefer to make my porridge with oat milk instead of water as I think it turns out creamier and more paletable.  You can use cows, goats, sheeps, soy, rice, or almond milk as subsititutes.  If you do use water then I’m a fan of stirring through a spoonful of yoghurt to give your oats a nicer texture on your tongue.

Below are just some of the things I like to accompany my morning porridge with….do you have any great favourites you’d like to share?

Happy Cooking & Happy Eating,

Leah

a spoonful of Orange Marmalade with a good shake of Cinnamon
a spoonful of Orange Marmalade with a good shake of Cinnamon
Baked Rhubarb and Apple
Cinnamon, Baked Rhubarb and Apple
Banana and Brown Sugar
Banana and Brown Sugar
Almonds, Raw Sugar and Lemon Zest
Almonds, Raw Sugar and Lemon Zest
2 Comments Add yours

  1. ohlidia says:

    I just can’t eat porridge if it’s not made with milk… what a huge difference that makes. I love to add banana or blueberries with cinnamon and maple syrup. Great ideas you’ve given us!

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      Ooo, I like the idea of the blueberries. I’ll have to give them a go. Thanks for the inspiration 🙂

      Like

Share your thoughts, we love to hear them....

