Roast Beetroot and Dill Salad

7Have I mentioned that one of my favourite herbs is dill?  I don’t think I use it enough in recipes in proportion to just how much I love it.  Like saffron, it evokes memories of Sweden and my gorgeous Swedish friends and family.  In particular the inspiration for this dish came from a gorgeous Canadian friend, Chandra, who is married to my best friend.  They currently live in Sweden and a warm roasted version of this dish was served up the day I arrived for a visit a few years ago.  It stuck in my memory and I return to it now and then, as a quick way to dress up beetroot, when I’m looking for something a little bit special.   This salad is super easy to make and is quite impressive to add to your BBQ table.  The beetroot can be pre-roasted, either whole (best for a cold salad) or in pre-cut pieces and then its a few minutes to finish off just before serving.  As an added bonus I love this as a warm salad too in the winter months so its super versatile.

4

Roast Beetroot & Dill Salad

  • 4 large beetroot, roasted
  • 2 tbl sp chopped fresh dill tips
  • 1 tbl sp. balsamic vinegar
  • 1 tbl sp. olive oil
  • salt and pepper to taste

Roast your beetroot in your preferred style depending on if you are serving them warm or cold.  At the time of serving dress the beetroot in the dill, balsamic vinegar and olive oil. Season to taste.

Happy Cooking & Happy Eating,

Leah

9 Comments Add yours

  1. Darya says:

    Beets and dill is a classic Russian combination as well! I love it in soups, but your beautiful salad sounds truly delicious, I love the balsamic touch. And like you, I don’t think I use dill quite as much as I should considering how much I love it!

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      Thank you. Have to say I don’t feel confident cooking beetroot in soup for fear for turning it brown…. I’ll have to give it another go soon though. Cool to know dill & beetroot is a classic flavor in many cultures. 🙂

      Like

      1. Darya says:

        To avoid the beetroot turning brown in a soup, make sure to use fresh raw beets (not pre-cooked beetroot which is what the French here use most of the time), and add a few drops of vinegar or lemon juice (the taste will not be altered, and the color will be brighter!)

        Like

      2. Leah says:

        Ah great tips, thank you. I will have to give it a shot one day very, very soon and ill keep these suggestions in mind. 🙂

        Like

  2. Kumu says:

    Beautiful Leah ! Its almost a staple in South India. Simple saute with onions , mustard seeds and Salt. The Balsamic Vinegar and Dill, I should definitely try!

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      Oh I love the idea of mustard with beetroot & I just happened to buy some fresh ones today at the market. Thanks for the tip! 🙂

      Like

  3. ohlidia says:

    Same for me. Love dill but don’t use enough of it. Love roasted beets and this salad looks lovely!

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      thank you. I’m thinking of trying a raw beetroot version too today, think it might be just as tasty in a whole different way 🙂

      Like

Share your thoughts, we love to hear them....

