Awesome Zucchini & Corn Fritters

5

I’ve posted a previous recipe of zucchini and corn fritters over a year ago, but a lot has happened in my kitchen in 12 months time, so I thought it was time to share an updated version of this recipe I’ve just recently tried, which just happens to be gluten and dairy free…. and dare I say it, better than the first version! Actually, the other half outright stated that this is his favourite zucchini fritter of all the types that I’ve made so far.  Given that most batches don’t last long due to both of us eating them almost as quickly as they are cooked, this is high praise indeed.  The evolution may very well be complete.

I’m very quickly coming to the conclusion that with a few tricks, and shared experiences from other gluten intolerant people, eating with a restricted diet doesn’t mean you have to miss out on your favourites, nor does it mean that you have to skip on flavour.  I’m fortunate enough that I can eat wheat etc without many problems, as you could no doubt tell from some of my recipes, but I’m always happy to do something good for my body if it’s not going to mean sacrificing flavour and texture in the process.

12

Gluten Free Zucchini & Corn Fritters

  • 1 cup gluten free flour
  • 4 tbl sp psyllium husks
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • kernals from 1 cob of corn
  • 2 eggs
  • 4 medium sized zucchinis, grated
  • 2 tbl sp finely chopped dill tips
  • a good grind of cracked black pepper
  • canola or vegetable oil for frying, approx 1L

11

Combine all your ingredients in a bowl together until well blended.

8

Heat your oil in a deep pan over a medium heat.  To check if its hot enough, put a little of the mix into the pan or test with a skewer, either which will start to fizz and bubble when hot.  As a caution, don’t leave your oil unattended, and be careful as if your zucchini is slightly wet it may make the oil fizz and spit more than expected.

Create teaspoon sized balls and place carefully into the oil.  Cook until golden brown.  Place on paper towel to drain the excess oil.   Repeat until the mixture is all cooked.

1

Serve hot or cold, with salad and or a dipping sauce.  Another alternative would be to make them flat and then serve with an egg on top to make a divine breakfast.  They can be stored cold and reheated in the oven, which we found gave them an extra crispy edge.

4

We went for tomato chutney as a dipping sauce whilst we watched a game of football and had a few beers.  A perfect snack.

Happy Cooking & Happy Eating,

Leah

9 Comments Add yours

  1. Kumu says:

    They look lovely. These sort of snacks are a favorite for a Rainy day with a hot cuppa 🙂

    Like

  2. ohlidia says:

    These look awesome! Seeing as I have an abundance of zucchini from the garden and that corn as at the peak of its season, I will be trying these out this weekend. Can’t wait!

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      Oh yum! I’m sure they’ll be amazing with homegrown veg on a whole other level. I’d love to hear how you go 🙂

      Like

  3. These are wonderful! Don’t you love it when you “improve” upon an already good recipe. I haven’t ever cook fritters before! (what?) I really like this recipe. I think it’s time to cook some fritters! 🙂

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      Thank you. I do love that my recipes keep evolving, or sometimes I just follow my nose and it ends up beating what I thought I was doing. Part of the joy of cooking isn’t it? 🙂

      Like

  4. ohlidia says:

    Hi Leah! Quick question… what will the psyllium husks do and do I need them? I’ve been to a few grocers’ and haven’t found it. I need to go to a health food shop but I’m wondering if I can do without?

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      They will be fine with our them, if you have some chick pea flour (besan) or polenta you could add that in instead. They will make the fritters more dense and a little crunchier. I found the psyllium husks lightened the texture but I have made great fritters without it. Good luck & I hope they work out for you 🙂

      Like

Share your thoughts, we love to hear them....

