Chunky Chocolate Chip Biscuits

5

I was thinking about making some biscuits to say thank you to my lovely neighbour for the baked and other gifts she has shared over the past few weeks and for some reason these sprung to mind as what I should make.  I searched my recipe books and came up empty and so went to the biggest recipe book I know…. the internet to gain inspiration for this recipe.   I was looking for something that was a little bit rustic and also chewy if possible as its a texture of preference for biscuits in this house.  I finally settled on this recipe from The Kitchen Magpie by Karlynn Johnston and I have to say I’m pretty happy with the outcome.  I think my only change will be next time to go for a block of dark chocolate roughly cut so we get bigger chunks of chocolate.  The commercial milk chocolate chips I used just weren’t enough believe it or not, even with the quantity the recipe asks for.  The texture wasn’t as chewy as I imagined either, but the flavour was still great so I’m certainly not complaining.

11

Chunky Chocolate Chip Biscuits

Preheat your oven to 180c

  • 2 1/4 cups flour (I used white spelt)
  • 2 tsp bicarbonate soda
  • 80g unsalted butter
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 raw sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 cups dark chocolate chips or cut up pieces of dark chocolate

10

Cream your butter and sugar together for approx 4 minutes.  The mixture will be quite stiff with the chocolate but you want it as fluffy as you can get it.

9

Add vanilla and eggs until well combined.  Sift your flour and bicarbonate soda and then add to the butter mix until well combined. Finally mix in your chocolate until just combined.

8

Place teaspoon sized pieces of the mixture onto a baking sheet and bake for approx 15 minutes or until golden brown.  These will expand so don’t crowd the tray too much.

7

Should yield approx 3 dozen.

Happy Baking & Happy Eating,

Leah

4

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Rebecca Thuell says:

    The biscuits were amazing. They were very like in our house and nearly gone the day we got them. Thanks so much.

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      So glad you liked them! They didn’t last long here either, but we did go for sharing them around to help save my waistline 🙂

      Like

Share your thoughts, we love to hear them....

