Roasted Purple Vegetables

10

First let me ask you this… what colour do you think purple carrots and purple sweet potato’s are under their skin?  One answer might surprise you, the other not so much.   Did you know they even existed?

Well I challenged myself at the market today, off the back of a monthly blogging challenge that I was invited to participate in called Our Growing Edge.  I was inspired to buy a vegetable that I’ve been looking at time and time again, and wondering what on earth to do with them.  I’m talking about purple carrots.  Fairly new to the scene I didn’t even know where they’d come from or what they would taste like, but I took a punt and bought a bunch.  I knew I could research them when I got home and they inspired me to create this dish in the process.  This led to me buying something else I’ve never tried before, purple sweet potato.

So what are purple carrots?  Turns out all carrots were purple back in the day.  They originated in ancient Persia and it was the Dutch that bred them to orange.  Apparently they are bursting full of anti-oxidents and all the extra goodies we all need to be eating more of regularly.  And here was us being cynical and thinking they were GM food that was a blend of beetroot with carrots….turns out I should stop eating the orange ones, not the purple ones… who knew??!?!

So what did we do with these beautiful purple beauties?  A traditional roast veg to go with tonight’s corned beef, and it was delicious.  The roasted purple sweet potato tastes something like parsnip, and the carrots? well beetroot is not far off, but sweeter.   Delicious all round.

4

Roasted Purple Vegetables

  • 8 small purple carrots
  • 2 medium-sized beetroot
  • 2 small purple sweet potatoes
  • 2 large potatoes
  • 2 spanish onions
  • 4 garlic cloves
  • 4 sprigs of rosemary
  • oil
  • salt and pepper to taste

Pre-Heat your oven to approx 180c.  Peel and cut all the vegetables into similar sized shapes.  Put into a bowl and coat lightly with vegetable oil and season with salt and pepper.  Place on a roasting pan and put into an oven and roast for approx an hour or until your vegetables are nice and crispy around the edges.

9

Serve hot from the oven.

Happy Cooking & Happy Eating,

Leah

our-growing-edge-badge

2 Comments Add yours

  1. ohlidia says:

    Just LOVE roasted veggies!

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      Oh us too… they’re pretty great aren’t they 🙂

      Like

Share your thoughts, we love to hear them....

