Chocolate Orange & Ginger Hedgehog gone awray…

1

I had intended to share with you a really cool version of the traditional hedgehog, but alas it was not meant to be.  Normally this would mean back to the drawing board, but cooking is as much about the lessons from failures, as it is from our successes so I thought it was only fair that I share a great idea, a little less successfully executed and hope that my community of fellow cooks and eaters will forgive me and perhaps empathise and/or learn from my errors.   My first mistake was thinking one packet of biscuits would be enough.  You actually need about 1 and then about 1/3 of another.  I tried to compensate by adding in more walnuts… whoopsie!  I then think I didn’t have quite enough cocoa which probably didn’t help the setting of the mixture either… eek!   Finally I accidentally added in a bit too much rum to the icing mixture…. oh no….  great for flavour, but also a problem for setting.  The moral of the story is when it comes to baking there is a reason for quantities and you do need to be pretty similar to get away with making changes.  I’m not going to let that stop me though as I go about trying different versions of things, but it was a timely reminder to follow the recipe at least for the first time before I go trying to create my own versions.  The joys of cooking!

The good news is that inspite of the texture being a little bit on the fudge side, rather than firm to touch, the flavour was sensational and everyone that I shared this with loved it, So do as I say and not as I do with this recipe and you’ll come out with a sensational version of an old bakery classic.

16

Chocolate Orange & Ginger Hedgehog

This recipe was based on Stephanie Alexander’s The Cook’s Companion.

  • 375g of Ginger Nut biscuits
  • 3/4 cup chopped walnuts
  • zest of 1 orange
  • 125g unsalted butter
  • 3/4 cup castor sugar
  • 4 tbl. sp dutch cocoa
  • 2 eggs, lightly beaten

Icing

  • 125g bittersweet chocolate
  • 1 tbl. sp dark rum
  • 60g butter

LIghtly butter a 20cm square tin.

8

Break the gingernut biscuits into small pieces and place in a large mixing bowl with the walnuts and orange zest.

13

Over a low heat melt the butter with the castor sugar and stir until the sugar has dissolved.

12

Mix in the cocoa and stir until smooth.  Allow to cool.

11

Once cool then add in the eggs and then pour the liquid mixture over the biscuits and walnuts and combine well.

4

Press into the square tin and then put in the fridge to chill and set.

To make the icing.

3

Put all the ingredients into a metal bowl and melt over a hot water bath.

2

Pour mixture over the hedgehog and tip tin until the mix is all covered.   Return to the fridge to set before cutting into squares or fingers.  To create some texture in your icing, run a fork across the mixture once it is half set.

Happy Baking & Happy Eating,

Leah

4 Comments Add yours

  1. ohlidia says:

    I love the way you just went about it anyway, making up for missing ingredients. Playing around in baking makes a little nervous but good on you for pushing through! And there’s never too much rum in anything. It may not have set, but I bet it was delish!

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      Thank you, what a lovely complement. I do love experimenting with flavours and we have to make some mistakes along the way to get to the good stuff dont you think? The flavours were great in the end and all the tasters were pretty happy with it… next step is a non-sticky edition 🙂 Have a great weekend

      Like

  2. ohlidia says:

    Yes, we do need to make mistakes to get to the good stuff. And as long as it tastes great, who cares what it looks like? 🙂

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      you’re so right, I’m just being picky with myself about not following the rules and then expecting something to happen which was never going to. The flavours were great so I will be giving it another try 🙂

      Like

Share your thoughts, we love to hear them....

