BBQ Salad Series:Moroccan Carrot Salad

1

Carrot is a great base for salads.  It’s substantial, sweet and crunchy all at the same time.  Add a few interesting ingredients and you have a fabulous way to turn the humble carrot into something a little exotic for your meal table without it taking hours to create.   This salad is actually one that  I have memories of from my childhood.  Bored with the same old coleslaw and potato salad I think I’m fairly safe to say that Mum went in search of new, interesting and cheap alternatives for us for meals on hot summer evenings.   I do remember that I loved the sultanas, although I’m pretty sure that I would have been thinking that the cumin wasn’t my favourite thing.  Now I love different spices and this salad was a lovely reminder of all the different things you can do to make salad interesting for yourself.   The added bonus is that with only a few ingredients and about 2 minutes of your time you have an interesting salad to serve.  We ate this with chicken skewers, but I think it would be divine with some spiced lamb chops cooked on the BBQ.

7

Moroccan Carrot Salad

this recipe is thanks to tastespace

  • 2 carrots, peeled and grated
  • handful of raisins
  • 1 tbl. sp. apple cider vinegar
  • 1 tbl. sp. olive oil
  • 1/2 tsp ground cumin
  • 1 spring onion finely sliced (green only)
  • about 2 tbl. sp. finely chopped flat leaf parsley ( I used curly because that was all I had in the fridge)
  • salt and pepper to taste

Prepare your carrots, parsley and spring onions and then combine all ingredients in a bowl.  Serve immediately.  Will serve 2 people, but can easily be doubled or tripled if you’re entertaining.

4

Happy Cooking & Happy Eating,

Leah

5 Comments Add yours

  1. janettefox says:

    that looks super good

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      thank you. super easy to make and delicious as well 🙂

      Like

  2. ohlidia says:

    I think my girls would love this one. I know I would. Now I’ve got 2 salads to make! Thanks Leah!

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      My absolute pleasure. I hope you enjoy the salads as much as we did 🙂 Leah

      Like

Share your thoughts, we love to hear them....

