How to de-skin and cut a pineapple

I thought I’d do something a little different. I may be stating the obvious, but for those of you who stare at this wonderful fruit and wonder how to cut it up without wasting all the juicy golden insides, I thought I’d post a little step by step on the best way I know to cut a pineapple.  Really my one and only tip is that I prefer to use a bread knife for this job to cut the pineapple cleanly.   After removing the skin I find the fruit will keep for a few days in the fridge and is a tasty and healthy snack.

If you have any other tips for cutting pineapples, please do share them with me by commenting below, as I love learning new tricks in the kitchen.

The Pineapple
The Pineapple
Using a breadknife cut off the top and bottom of the pineapple
Using a breadknife cut off the top and bottom of the pineapple
Place the pineapple on its end and slice the skin off in about 1-2cm widths
Place the pineapple on its end and slice the skin off in about 1-2cm widths
A clean pineapple... next step removing the core
A clean pineapple… next step removing the core
Slice the Pineapple in Half
Slice the Pineapple in Half
Lay the pineapple on its side with the core faceing upwards and cut adjacent to the core at a 45degree angle on either side.  The core should then be easy to remove.
Lay the pineapple on its side with the core faceing upwards and cut adjacent to the core at a 45degree angle on either side. The core should then be easy to remove.
Finally, slice the Pineapple into desired widths and serve fresh.
Finally, slice the Pineapple into desired widths and serve fresh.

Happy Eating,  Leah

Share your thoughts, we love to hear them....

