Fennel and Orange Chicken Skewers with Carrot Salad

Fennel and Orange Chicken Skewers with Carrot Salad

Another yum moment from this cook book.   I loved the look of it when I started on this project, but as I move through the recipes that appeal to me I am learning some new flavour combinations and having my memory refreshed of others.  I love fresh fennel with orange, so combining the seeds with orange held appeal for me.  I think next time I would adapt this recipe and go for adding in some orange rind to give it a bit more zing, but I really loved the flavours and found the recipe very easy to produce.

We cooked our chicken on the BBQ, but I think I’ll give the oven a try next time as the BBQ tended to overpower some of the flavour of the orange which is actually pretty subtle in this mix when its said and done.

Again a recipe that didn’t require any special tools to create, although I had a tough time with the vegetable peeler and the carrots so I would suggest if you have a mandolin in your kitchen it might produce a better result for you than what I got.   Oh and keep your purple carrots separate until the last minute as they tend to colour what they touch.

Finally I would suggest placing your skewers into a glass or bowl of water so that they are fully covered, this will prevent them catching fire when you are cooking them on the bbq or they are sitting close the element under the grill.

Fennel and Orange Chicken Skewers with Carrot Salad

Fennel and Orange Chicken Skewers with Carrot Salad

from Donna Hay’s Fresh and Light

  • 1/4 cup orange juice
  • 1 tbl sp honey
  • 1 tsp fennel seeds, toasted
  • 1 tbl sp vegetable oil
  • 1 tbl sp lemon juice
  • 1 clove garlic, crushed
  • 750g chicken thigh fillets (approx 8), trimmed & sliced
  • 12 baby rainbow coloured carrots, thinly sliced with a vegetable peeler or mandolin

IMG_8472

Place the orange juice, honey, fennel seeds, oil, lemon juice and garlic into a bowl and combine well.

Fennel and Orange Chicken Skewers with Carrot Salad

Place the chicken into a separate bowl and pour half of the orange mixture over the meat.  Combine to make sure the meat is all covered and then place in the fridge for 20 mins.  Alternatively place the chicken and mixture into a freezer bag  and once you’ve tied shut massage the mixture through the meat.   Once marinated thread the chicken onto the skewers.

Fennel and Orange Chicken Skewers with Carrot SaladFennel and Orange Chicken Skewers with Carrot SaladFennel and Orange Chicken Skewers with Carrot Salad7Fennel and Orange Chicken Skewers with Carrot Salad

Place the chicken onto a baking tray, lined with non-stick baking paper, and cook under a hot grill for approx 2 mins on each side until the chicken is cooked through.

To make the salad, toss the carrots in the remaining orange mixture and serve immediately.

Serves approx 4 people.

Happy Cooking & Happy Eating,

Leah

8 Comments Add yours

  1. ladyredspecs says:

    Love he sound of this dish and look forward to giving it a try X

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      It’s a great flavour combo. It reminded me about fennel seeds too and how much I like them 🙂

      Like

  2. ohlidia says:

    Those chicken skewers are mouth-wateringly beautiful!

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      oh thank you!

      Like

  3. Michelle says:

    I’d like to invite you to join our site http://www.erecipe.com . I really enjoy your blog and recipes and I think the over 8,000 unique daily visitors to eRecipe will too.
    By joining eRecipe, we will provide the Nutrition Facts for every recipe you post in which you could customize and add to your blog. Viewers need and love to know the nutritional facts. Its a free service that we offer to blogs and recipes we really love. It looks professional and your members will love it.
    Simply visit http://www.erecipe.com or contact me at michelle@erecipe.com. We look forward having you in our network!

    Like

Share your thoughts, we love to hear them....

