Quinoa Granola

Quinoa Granola

Another super easy recipe to make by Donna Hay. This time around I’ve chosen one of the breakfast dishes and I was looking forward to a change in what I’ve been eating of late.  Firstly, I did substitute the oats for barley and some spelt flakes due to certain issues I’ve been having with oats of late.  I don’t think this affected the recipe.   As a rule I actually quite like a good crunchy granola/muesli and had hoped that this might become my next breakfast of choice for a while.   I’ll be honest though and say I did find this mixture a little tough going to eat.  Dry, but still with a flavour that I did enjoy.  In particular whilst the quinoa looks spectacular in contrast to the golden barley and spelt flakes, I found it quite heavy going to eat.  I think it would be fair to say this is not a granola for the uninitiated muesli/granola eaters out there.  I would suggest eating this granola with a good lashing of yoghurt so you have a nice balance of texture and flavour.

Making it was a dream though, the only thing to watch for is the toasting in the oven.  I turned my mixture over on the baking tray a few times with an egg lift to get an even mixture and not end up with burnt patches.  Unfortunately I’m yet to met an oven that cooks anything evenly.

I’d love to hear what you think if you do decide to give this recipe a go.

Quinoa Granola

Quinoa Granola

from Donna Hay’s Fresh and Light

  • 1 1/2 cups white Quinoa
  • 1 1/2 cups rolled oats
  • 2 tbl sp. vegetable or canola oil
  • 1/4 cup maple syrup
  • 1/2 cup sunflower seeds
  • 1 tsp cinnamon

Preheat your oven to 180c.

Quinoa Granola

Combine all ingredients in a bowl.

Quinoa Granola

Spread the granola mix out onto a baking tray lined with non-stick baking paper.

Quinoa Granola

Bake for approx 15 mins or until the grains are golden brown.

Quinoa Granola

Allow to cool and serve with fresh fruit, yoghurt, milk or any other breakfasty liquid you like to have.

Will store in an airtight container up to 2 weeks.    Makes approx 8-10 serves.

Happy Cooking & Happy Eating,

Leah

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Deena Kakaya says:

    Fantastic idea, is it quite a slow item to eat? I bet it tastes very nutty x

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      Thank you Deena. Yes very nutty and a bit slow going. I think I’d go with more oats next time as after a few days I had to give it a break. A bit gritty for me. I’d love to hear what you think of the recipe if you end up making it. 🙂

      Like

      1. Deena Kakaya says:

        Yeah good idea, I might throw on some toasted oats. I will do, hope you’ll have a look at my recipes too x

        Like

      2. Leah says:

        Great idea. Yeah I’ll definitely check out your page 🙂

        Like

Share your thoughts, we love to hear them....

