Red Quinoa, Kale and Haloumi Salad

Red Quinoa, Kale & Haloumi SaladThis recipe appealed to me instantly with the main ingredients, add to that the dressing which intrigued me, and we might have a winner.   The texture combination worked really well, but I think the secret of success with Haloumi is you must eat it got straight off the grill. Give it 5 or 10 minutes of the cheese sitting and it will turn rubbery and be less than appealing.  One option might be to try Saganaki cheese as an alternative as it tends to be smoother and stretchy if you prefer your cheese that way.

Overall though, I am quite a fan of the dressing and was very happy with this dish.   I’d make it again, but I can see myself playing around with the recipe a bit. Having said that I already had to substitute ingredients due to accessability on this one a little bit more challenging that originally expected.  Red quinoa was off the shelves of both my local supermarket and health food shops for a while (I went with white, but black may have made the dish more interesting visually) and I didn’t have any kale, nor that was easy to get last minute, so I replaced it with a combination of spinach and rocket (arugula).  I dont think this compromised the flavour, although it would have influenced the texture.

If you like cheese and need a good protein hit as a vegetarian then I think this is the recipe for you.

Red Quinoa, Kale & Haloumi Salad

Red Quinoa, Kale and Haloumi Salad

  • 150g kale, trimmed (or spinach and rocket mixture)
  • 2 1/2 cups cooked Red Quinoa
  • 1/2 cup flat leaf parsley leaves
  • 500g haloumi, finely sliced
  • olive oil for brushing cheese

smokey lemon dressing

  • 2 tbl sp lemon juice
  • 1 tsp sweet smoked paprika
  • 1 tbl sp olive oil

If you are using kale, cut it into large pieces and place in a heatproof bowl.  Pour over some boiling water and allow to stand for 5 minutes.  Drain and pat dry on absorbant paper. Toss the kale with the quinoa and parsley.  If you are using spinach and or rocket instead then you don’t need to par cook it, just wash, spin dry and then mix in with the quinoa and parsley.

Red Quinoa, Kale & Haloumi Salad

To make the dressing, combine all the ingredients into a bowl and combine well.  Once made pour over the salad and toss to combine.

Heat a non-stick fry pan over a medium to high heat.  Brush the haloumi with a little oil and cook for a few minutes either side or until golden brown.  If you’re feeling adventurous try cooking this on a hotplate on the BBQ.  It’s a great way to add a little bit more flavour.

Red Quinoa, Kale & Haloumi Salad

Divide the salad onto plates and top with the cheese to serve.

Red Quinoa, Kale & Haloumi Salad

Happy Cooking & Happy Eating,

Leah

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Deena Kakaya says:

    That halloumi looks flavoured so well, great pic! I’m sharing a halloumi recipe later, hope you will have a look x

    Like

  2. ohlidia says:

    I’m always buying haloumi cheese and just let it sit there forever, never getting around to doing something creative with it. This salad looks fabulous! And as you know, I’m not very creative with my salads so here’s another one to add to my ever-growing list.

    Like

Share your thoughts, we love to hear them....

