Quinoa Tabouli

Quinoa Tabouli

I have a confession to make.  Up until the moment when I made this salad I hated Tabouli… with a passion.  There was something about the texture and flavour when I had it as a child that pretty much scarred me for life.    As such I have never made it, nor had I any intention of making this salad as part of my food challenge because of these memories.

Thanks to a fabulous post by Simple Provisions I changed my mind about giving it a go.   Amelia explained to me that she had similar memories, but making the salad with quinoa had completely changed her opinion and I should give it a try.  If her comments weren’t enough, the photo’s of her salad was enough to seal the deal.

So here I am with a thousand apologies to Tabouli because we’ve finally made up and I’m here to say that this is a fresh tasty salad that I would definitely be prepared to make and eat again without hesitation.   I’m also submitting this recipe for my contribution to Our Growing Edge for October as cooking to overcome a hated childhood fear is as good for me as cooking with an ingredient that you’ve never used before or trying a new recipe.   If you feel the same as I have about this maligned salad, now is the time to try making it again.

Quinoa Tabouli

Quinoa Tabouli

  • 3 cups cooked white quinoa
  • 1 1/2 cups flat leaf parsley leaves ( I used curly leaf because it was all I had in the fridge)
  • 1 cup roughly chopped mint leaves
  • 1/4 cup snipped chives
  • 250g cherry tomatoes, quartered
  • 1 tbl finely grated lemon rind
  • 2 tbl sp lemon juice
  • 2 tbl sp olive oil
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • marinated feta or labna and pita bread to serve

Cut your parsley, mint and chives and place in a bowl with the quinoa, tomatoes and lemon zest.  Mix together.

Quinoa Tabouli

Add the remaining ingredients to dress the salad and combine well.  Serve immediately with the feta and pita bread.

Quinoa Tabouli

Happy Cooking & Happy Eating

Leah

our-growing-edge-badgeThis post is part of the monthly link up party Our Growing Edge. This event aims to connect food bloggers and inspire us to try new things.  October 2013 hosted by Alice from Nom Nom Cat.

10 Comments Add yours

  1. bec {daisy and the fox} says:

    yum! love this! quinoa in tabouli sounds like the way to go! 🙂
    definitely going to try this 🙂

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      It totally change my opinion of the salad so definitely do. Absolutely delicious 🙂

      Like

  2. I love quinoa tabouli! Congratulations on tackling this challenge head-on. Looks like a success to me!

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      Thank you, and thank you for the inspiration 🙂

      Like

  3. I love quinoa but I’ve never had it in tabouli. I’ve eaten some bad tabouli in the past. Many places use something that looks like tiny pasta bits which I do not like. The texture is too squishy. I like the idea of quinoa. It has a cool texture.

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      Genie, I’m with you about bad tabouli experiences but this recipe with the quinoa really did change my mind. Plus first time making it myself meant I knew exactly what was in it and I realised that I do really like the ingredients therefore I should like them all together :-). It really is worth giving it a try.

      Like

  4. Amelia says:

    Yay! I’m so glad you liked it 🙂

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      I’m really not sure now why I waited so long to give it a go. Thank you for the inspiration with your post and photos.

      Like

Share your thoughts, we love to hear them....

