In My (temporary) Kitchen

I love the concept of sharing on a monthly basis a little bit of whats going on in my kitchen.  It’s a window into my foodie world, and in turn when I read other posts of the same topic I get to some insight into how kitchens operate all over the world which is thrilling to explore.   Because of this I thought this month I would join in the November round up hosted by Celia at Fig Jam and Lime Cordial.  Already I’ve had heaps of fun reading up on other people’s contributions.

For me this very first contribution actually comes from someone elses kitchen as I’m house sitting in an area about 40km north of Brisbane, and about equal distance away from my own home.  In a way it is perhaps a more cool explanation because what is in this kitchen is my necessities living away from my normal supplies and a few little treats that I’ve been exploring in someone else’s space.

In my kitchen is…. a whole lot of vintage cookbooks and I’m loving reading them and trying to choose which recipes I’d like to create.

books

In my kitchen is…. vintage cutlery and glassware which is reminding me of my dearly departed Nan.  It’s inspiring me to cook the aforementioned vintage recipes whilst I think of her.

cutleryglass

In my kitchen is….smoked almonds.  I’m obsessed with these babies at the moment,  They are so tasty with green olives and a beer, a perfect snack at the end of the day or when you have people to visit.

almonds

In my kitchen is…. fresh dates.  I’m exploring healthy baking recipes that are without flour, sugar and egg and dates are the foundation of these recipes.  If you like dates and coconut you must try the coconut rough recipe that I made last week.

dates

In my kitchen is … the first of the homegrown baby tomatoes fresh from the vine.  A nice little privilege from babysitting and it would be a shame to waste them whilst I wait for their true owners to return right?

tomatos

I can’t wait to share some of my kitchen treats from my real kitchen next month when I’m back home.

Happy Cooking and Happy Eating,

Leah

33 Comments Add yours

  1. so lovely to get to have fun in a ‘new’ kitchen 🙂

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      It is fun to explore, but you also find yourself looking for the things you know you have. Learning very quickly to not start cooking anything before checking to make sure that I have all the ingredients to hand. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by.

      Like

  2. ladyredspecs says:

    Nice to get some insights into your temp kitchen. Xx

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      Do you recognise the cut glass parfait bowls? I’m sure Nan had some of these when I was a kid? have had a lovely trip down memory lane putting this post together 🙂 x

      Like

      1. ladyredspecs says:

        Yep, I recognize the bowls, she used to serve whipped cream in them at dessert when there were visitors. 😄xxx

        Like

  3. ohlidia says:

    Lovely post Leah!

    Like

  4. How nice to have you joining in Leah! The old cutlery and cut crystal is just beautiful, and I saw smoked almonds on sale recently and didn’t buy them – I will next time! 🙂

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      Thank you and thank you for having me. Do try the smoked almonds, they are delicious and quite addictive! 🙂

      Like

  5. nancy@jamjnr.com says:

    I love smoked almonds too. That vintage cutlery is so gorgeous. I spy your Jane Grigson too – I’m not having an easy time finding a recipe I like to be honest but I have something in mind I’m trying it out tomorrow. Amazing how what we eat has changed in such a short time!

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      I should say remember what you make doesn’t have to be the letter of any particular recipe, even if its just inspired by something you find. A lot of the recipes are staples, but like you said they’ve evolved over time, particularly in Australia as we’ve blended in the tastes of so many other cultures to our food. Can’t wait to see what you try from the recipe book. Leah 🙂

      Like

  6. G’day leah! Lovely post I enjoyed reading today, true!
    Thank you for inviting me in your kitchen to view!
    Cheers! Joanne
    Viewed as part of Celia’s IMK

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      Hi Joanne, thank you for stopping by and your lovely comment. It is fun to share whats happening in the kitchen don’t you think. 🙂

      Like

  7. Mrs Mulberry says:

    A beautiful collection in your kitchen Leah, just adore your vintage cookbooks, cutlery and the special glassware – what a treasure to have.

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      Thank you so much. I’m coveting them secretly from my in-laws, but on the look out in op shops to create a beautiful collection like this myself. Thank you for the lovely compliment. Leah

      Like

  8. Karen says:

    I love going through my friends cookbooks when we send a weekend with them…your friends books look like they are well loved.

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      Oh me too, and I’ve been eying off these books for a while when I come to visit so its been nice to take some time to look at them properly. Some have been in the family for decades, coming over from New Zealand many years ago. They’re local books published by the local school or church group. They are like a cook book and history book all wrapped into one. Great reading.

      Like

  9. heidiannie says:

    What fun! I love temporary kitchening! I helped out a friend at her B and B some years ago when they went to Disney World and had a great time banging about in her kitchen! She had a scone recipe that I had been thinking about and I made it up for the guests! Then it became MY recipe, kitchens are all about sharing. Love the dates!

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      Thank you. It has been a bit of fun, I’m particularly loving the cook books. Reading Mrs Beaton’s Everyday Cooking and even the introduction about housekeeping is giving me a great chuckle!

      Like

  10. Gustoso says:

    English Food is a classic. Great shots.

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      Thank you so much, I’m very much enjoying exploring the book and realising how much good food does come out of England. (It does get a bad rap I think)

      Like

  11. I so love old cook books – I recently finished doing a series on my Grans Woman’s Home Cook Book and bone handled cutlery is one of my favourites, although I only own a few pieces. I would love a full canteen – maybe one day.
    Have a lovely day.
    🙂 Mandy

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      I must check out your posts. I’m really getting into old cookbooks at the moment. Thanks for visiting 🙂 Leah

      Like

  12. Such a lovely post, thank you for sharing!

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      Thank you so much! I’m looking forward to sharing my actual kitchen next month 🙂

      Like

  13. Those old cookbooks look like they have a lot of potential & I love the vintage cutlery and glassware. Right about now I wish I was in anyone’s kitchen other than my own. I can’t wait to have mine back.

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      Thank you. The one thing I’ve found about being away from my kitchen is that I do appreciate the things I have in mine, particularly those little things that you are used to having at your fingertips. Fingers crossed you can be back in your kitchen soon and think of all the amazing things you’ll be able to create once its completed and truly yours!

      Like

  14. I adore dates and adore coconut, I’m definitely going to have to check out your coconut rough recipe! I’m (impatiently) waiting for my tomatoes to ripen, I think they’re going to turn red all at once!!

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      Please do. I’ve also got a hedgehog recipe based on dates coming up in a few days that might take your fancy. How good are homegrown tomatoes? I really think they are the only way to get true tomato flavour. Enjoy them when they do ripen 🙂

      Like

  15. Great post and very bold (and challenging) to do i from an unfamiliar kitchen. I laughed when I saw those tomatoes – my tomatoes look similar at the moment, all dry and crispy. Hopefully this rain will revive them. Thanks for joining and look forward to another tour next month.

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      Thank you so much. Yes it seems the lack of rain has been making the tomatoes a bit sad, but we are still getting plenty of fruit coming through on our plants at home, now just to get it to ripen before the bugs and other critters get to them before we do 🙂 Can’t wait to share my actual kitchen next month. Leah

      Like

  16. The most surprising thing about old cookbooks (apart from their smell!) is that so many recipes in them are just the same as the ones touted by the latest cookbook writer or celebrity chef – though maybe with the inclusion of a “new” ingredient. Love the cutlery.

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      Anne, you are so right. There is some wonderful classics that we forget just how far back they go. I have to say I love the cutlery too, you just don’t get the same character in modern mass produced stuff.

      Like

Share your thoughts, we love to hear them....

