Polenta Crust Tomato Tart

Polenta Crust Tomato Tart

I’ve been eyeing off this recipe in Fresh and Light wondering if I should make it.  The photo in the book looks incredibly inviting, but I was worried it might not turn out to look as good.  The amazing thing about the recipes in this book is that I’m yet to make one that hasn’t been easy to follow and execute in my pretty basic home kitchen.  I used my mixer and the dough turned out just as well, as did the filling. I do think you could make this by hand with no troubles, not really needed the food processor, although it does make life easier.

The flavours I loved, although we both found the texture of the pastry quite gritty.  I don’t mind this, but the other half wasn’t a fan.  To be honest I’d be tempted to make this again, but changing up the pastry and eliminating the cream cheese and making this more of a quiche type texture instead.   The tart itself was perfect for a warm early summers dinner with a green salad and a glass of wine.

Here’s the recipe for you to create…and below a little inspiration of the visual kind.

Polenta Crust Tomato Tart

Polenta Crust Tomato TartPolenta Crust Tomato TartPolenta Crust Tomato TartPolenta Crust Tomato TartPolenta Crust Tomato TartPolenta Crust Tomato TartPolenta Crust Tomato TartPolenta Crust Tomato TartPolenta Crust Tomato TartPolenta Crust Tomato TartPolenta Crust Tomato TartPolenta Crust Tomato TartPolenta Crust Tomato Tart2Polenta Crust Tomato TartHappy Cooking & Happy Eating,

Leah

9 Comments Add yours

    1. Leah says:

      oh thank you! 🙂

      Like

  1. On my list of things to make, for sure! YUM. A great use for polenta.

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      Thank you. I hope you enjoy it, my tip would be to try to make the casing thin as its quite gritty, but rich and tasty all at the same time. Would love to know what you think of it if you do end up making it 🙂

      Like

      1. I was thinking about this tart today… I will keep you posted on how it turns out, Leah. Have a great day! 🙂

        Like

  2. great idea to made an invention dish with polenta….
    superb texturized tart!
    i ever made a finger food by coating a fish fillet with polenta too, it’s turned put nice n crusted…..

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      Great idea to use as a crust for fish. I’ll have to give it a go.

      Like

  3. ohlidia says:

    Looks beautiful Leah. It’s lunchtime here and as I look at this gorgeous tart, I could really go for a slice… just too lazy to get up and go though, it being Sunday. I think goat cheese could also be lovely in this.

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      lol…Thank you so much Lidia. I’m very happy with how these photo’s turned out. I think it almost looks better than it tasted 🙂 Great idea with the goats cheese, it would add that extra bite that it probably needed.

      Like

Share your thoughts, we love to hear them....

