Raining Meatballs with a Chance of Spaghetti

Meatballs in Tomato Soup

I can be a bit of a food snob, wanting to make things from scratch as much as possible.   I know it’s true, and I will openly admit to it, although I’ve found myself relaxing the idea a little of late driven mainly by convenience and time limitations.  I have this philosophy of back to basics mainly because I want to know what is in my food and that it’s healthy and good for me.  Nine times out of ten, it’s also cheaper to make from scratch and it taste a million times better. 

And then I found myself a couple of weeks ago succumbing to a cheats meal, although I had a very good reason (I thought) for doing so.

We were babysitting our nieces and nephew ages 11, 5 & 2 and not having any kidlets of our own after about 24 hours of why and hearing our names repeated ad nauseam our brains were a little tired.  Unfortunately the idea of spending time being creative in the kitchen lost its appeal a little. So to keep it real, feed them (and ourselves) something slightly more nutritious than takeaway I thought I’d re-create a cheats version of a delicious old family recipe called Porcupine Meatballs.  Now if you want the modern, healthy and proper version of this recipe please check out Please Pass The Recipe’s awesome version here.  It’s what I’ll be making next time I give this dish a go.

This time round though I went with nostalgia and broke out Heinz tomato soup, which I probably hadn’t eaten since I was about 10 years old, plus added pre-made meatballs (told you I was cheating) and really this took me about 5 minutes to prepare plus cooking time in the oven.

What I did make ended up being a roaring success and honestly I think I could probably have gone one step closer to making this healthy if I had of thought about it more, but with 3 young kids in tow in the supermarket I wasn’t thinking too clearly at the time.  You really need about 5 minutes to put this together and as long as the pasta takes to serve it so its perfect when you don’t have a lot of time on your hands or you are multi tasking to the max.

Check out the recipe here

And  this is what I did….

Happy Cooking and Happy Eating,

Leah

Meatballs in Tomato SoupMeatballs in Tomato SoupMeatballs in Tomato SoupMeatballs in Tomato SoupMeatballs in Tomato SoupMeatballs in Tomato SoupMeatballs in Tomato Soup

15 Comments Add yours

  1. thedessertcourse says:

    Hello fellow food snob haha – Totally agree on the making things from scratch thing. I get called a food snob a lot because of it. Home made just tastes better. Plain and simple. Although sometimes we all need some cheats!

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      Lol…I so agree. I am okay with being a purist….it leads to some pretty awesome food that people around me enjoy eating 🙂

      Like

  2. Hey at those ages, you could have had some extra pairs of meat ball forming hands. I can’t say I have ever bought meat balls. If I am feeling lazy, I make meat sauce instead of meatballs.

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      You’re so right. I had all those thoughts after I’d made the dish. Next time 🙂

      Like

  3. I heart pasta so much that I would marry it if I could!!! Except the dish of my dreams would be vegan…… Nonetheless, this looks yummy and thanks for sharing!

    PS yes, it can be very over stimulating hanging with kids. 😉

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      Lol…so nice to see your smiling face commenting on my post. Stimulating is a great way to describe it. They’re great kids and I wish I had their energy 🙂

      Like

  4. ohlidia says:

    Yes, I think I’m a bit of food snob myself… but it doesn’t stop me from cheating every now and then. Actually, come to think of it, I seem to be cheating quite often these days! 😉 When I first saw your photo, I thought, Oh yum! It really does look yummy with those crispy parts.

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      Thank you. I think we all need (and deserve) our cheats occassionally. 🙂

      Like

  5. GREAT title! Best – Shanna

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      Thank you 🙂

      Like

  6. That’s pretty awesome actually! 🙂 I’d love if someone cooked me this for dinner.

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      Thank you! such a simple recipe that I’m pretty sure that anyone could 🙂

      Like

  7. My 8 year old son just declared your meatballs look like ash, rocks and lava. Good job!

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      That may just be the best compliment ever! I’m going to remember this next time I’m trying to feed master picky 🙂 thank you

      Like

Share your thoughts, we love to hear them....

