Beautiful Yellow Google Buns

Luciakatte

I’ve talked a few times about spending a year in Sweden when I was a teenager as a Rotary Exchange student.  One of the things that inspired me to go on that journey is these buns.  True!   The very same family friend that made me my very first Swedish gingerbread as a child used to also make these beautiful yellow yeast buns called Luciakatte.  At the time I remember calling them google buns because they were exactly as I thought the said buns would be that Moonface used to make in Enid Blyton’s Faraway Tree.  Probably because of the sultana’s planted in the buns as decoration.  To this day I love the smell of saffron because of these buns and instantly associate it with Christmas

So whilst they take some effort to make, and are much better suited to the northern hemisphere climate for making at this time of the year I thought it was high time I shared these beautiful yellow buns with you all as my contribution to The Cookbook Guru for the month of December.

link through to the recipe here….Swedish Luciakatte

Happy Lucia!

Leah

LuciakatteLuciakatteLuciakatteLuciakatteLuciakatteLuciakatteLuciakatteLuciakatteLuciakatteLuciakatteLuciakatteLuciakatteLuciakatteLuciakatteLuciakatteLuciakatteLuciakatteLuciakatteLuciakatteLuciakatteLuciakatteLuciakatteLuciakatte

10 Comments Add yours

  1. mydearbakes says:

    This post just made my day! Loving your splendid looking bake! =)

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      Oh bless, thank you! They really are delicious and they spark my imagination along the way…. Win/win to me 🙂

      Like

  2. These look so, so tasty! 🙂

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      Thank you Shanna, they are delicious and hold a special part of Christmas for me 🙂

      Like

      1. That is lovely, Lean! 🙂

        Like

  3. ladyredspecs says:

    Sweet memories, the Wiking Lucia is to be resurrected this year with little Scarlett the queen! Xx

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      Yay! Scarlett is the cutest thing, I’m sure they’ll have a blast xx

      Like

  4. Dinner Bank says:

    Sitting and eating one Lussebulle right now 🙂 I love to eat them the hole year. I have some recipes in my blog with Lussekatter and some other similar things… 🙂 Hur mår du? 🙂

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      Lol… Ja med, til frukust! Happy Lucia 🙂

      Like

Share your thoughts, we love to hear them....

